We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Columbia Inn at Peralynna
Nearby Hotels
$119
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

DoubleTree by Hilton Columbia(Columbia)(Great Value!)
$106
$98
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$81
ExtendedStay
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
$125
GardenInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$101
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$99
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $157/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$109
$98
SpringHill Suites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveler rating
135
32
18
19
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
32
18
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastcrackersfrench toastmade to order breakfasttempurpedic bedsquick tournooks and cranniescommon areasnext morningboutique hotelrose petalsbagelscookiesother gueststhird floorhome away from homeguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
147 - 152 of 215 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2013

While overseeing the care of my elderly Aunt and Uncle in Columbia, MD, I had the opportunity to stay at this wonderful Bed & Breakfast for weeks at a time. I may hold a record for staying in almost every Suite they have! The beautiful surroundings, the caring staff, the excellent meals coming from their kitchen...I could go on and on! Suffice to say I always enjoyed the respite provided after days spent at the Nursing Home. Felt like a Princess when I stayed here. They are located in the heart of Columbia and well worth checking out!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tripletsgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review. We are thrilled to know you feel like royalty when staying with us, we wouldn't have it any other way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in the O suite for our wedding anniversary. The suite was great - quiet, spacious and very comfortable with the king size tempurpedic bed. The linens were also very clean and comfortable.

The jacuzzi didn't work which was a pretty big disappointment, initially at least. The maintenance guy fixed it in a reasonable amount of time.

One feature I was excited about was the complimentary wine and snacks in the afternoon. We were both highly disappointed with the quality of wine served, as they only featured white wine at room temperature, not exactly refreshing.

The cooked to order breakfast was great. Everything on the menu looked good, and our omelets did not disappoint.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the O suite because it is so spacious and quiet: you really get the sense of what it must be like to stay in a countryside carriage house.

However, it seems the property is a little run down and in need of renovation, especially with the rates they charge.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S5932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your review. Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our entire team to work on improving the appearance of the Inn as well as repairing and inspecting all of our jacuzzis. We hope that you will give us a second chance soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

They substitute out reserved turret suite with a crackerjack box sized room suite R. They said it was an upgrade and that they were booked and couldn't do anything about it. Even though we made our reservations well in advance and it was prepaid for the Turret suite. The jacuzzi in our suite had not been cleaned in quite a while. When we turned it on, black algae chunks about the size of a dime filled the tub. They then gave us the O suite for that first night, but we were told that we would have to return to the R suite for the second night because they had the O suite reserved.
The O suite had drains that didn't drain. the air conditioning didn't work in the bedroom. and the shower had steam jets that would not turn on. Night two, pack up our stuff and moved back to R suite. The Jacuzzi was better but still emitted black specks, So we just showered. I informed them on the that the toilet seat was very loose that morning, but it was still loose the night they moved us back in. I will say that the breakfast was good.
All in all, not a good experience. The place is fancy but needs kept up better.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank No_Screen_namePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

On behalf of the entire team here, allow me to apologize for the ways we failed to meet your expectations. We are making a strong effort to work on each point of your review. I would love to speak with you further about your stay and invite you back to prove to you we are better than your recent experience. Please contact me at 410-715-4600 to discuss your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Peralynna at the end of May 2012 to the second week of June 2012. We traveled with our 11 year old daughter and 8 month old son, and we stayed in one of the basement apartments. The apartment itself was huge, much more like a large one bedroom apartment than a room available in a bed and breakfast. We had a full kitchen, living room, master bedroom area, and second bedroom area with 2 beds and its own exit outside. We were also situated outside of the game room that had a large television, comfy squishy couches, and pool table. It was great, quiet and plenty of freedom. I had no problem letting my 11 year old hang out around the inn, and everyone loved our baby. Breakfast every morning was great, the choices were excellent, and of the 2 weeks we stayed there, I think my husband had a different meal every day. There were also snacks available in the afternoon, like cheese, crackers,and fruit, with a different sweet under the cake glass every day. Unlimited wine available all day went great with the cheese and crackers. :) In the afternoons we explored the "countryside" and went to the petting zoo down the road, and in the evenings, we caught fireflies in the large backyard, or grabbed a dvd from their large selection and had the option of sitting in our own living room or in the game room with the giant television. It was great. Definitely a spoiling experience!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Luz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that we could accommodate your family, and we look forward to your return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had a great trip up to Columbia, MD from Washington, DC on a beautiful fall weekend. The location of the Columbia Inn is great if you are looking to get away for a short trip or are heading to the legendary music venue - the Merriweather Pavillion - and need a close-by place to stay. We were impressed with the main house and the intimacy of the decor. Creative nooks designed by the hosts created for relaxing places to read, relax and even watch the game with free sodas (a nice touch!). However, we could not overlook the disparity between the lack of wow factor of our room and what was available online as a description. The price point of this inn is that of a five star hotel in Manhattan but what you get is more of a quaint comfortable somewhat quirky country inn. We had a great night of sleep on a more than comfortable bed with clean sheets, towels and the like. But that added touch, a jacuzzi tub, was a big disappointment when it was the size of an undersized regular tub which we already had at our own place. If you do stay here, save up your money and go big with the honeymoon suite. They showed us this room and it looked like what we had hoped ours would be. Nice weekend but a bit overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peralynnainn, Owner at Columbia Inn at Peralynna, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations, and we hope that you will give us a second chance soon. We are pleased to hear you were able to relax during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews