We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun”

Earth Treks Climbing Center
Ranked #2 of 9 Fun & Games in Columbia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Earth Treks' Climbing Centers are state-of-the-art indoor climbing gyms located in Columbia, Timonium and Rockville, MD. We pride ourselves on offering the best rock climbing in the greater Washington DC, Northern Virginia and Maryland region. Each climbing gym is among the largest in the country, with plenty of climbing for every ability level.General Information Earth Treks offers private and group instruction for climbers of all abilities and ages. Indoor or Outdoor climbing, beginner to advance! For information on courses available and online registration.We also offer private parties and venue rentals perfect for your next birthday party, girls night out or team building excursion!November 2013, Earth Treks Climbing Centers will be opening it's 4 location. This new climbing gym will be located in Golden, Colorado
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fun”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went to a birthday party there and it was lots of fun for the kids. The kids that work there are very knowlegeable and the children are actually doing a physical activity. We love it!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Erica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunmore, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avid Climber/Class Taker”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a fantastic gym to climb at. I've been climbing here for about a year, and go as often as I have belay partners. I've been taking a few classes that they offer on-site through the staff, and have enjoyed every minute of it. The gym also offers members clinics for free which are a great value for some invaluable experience.

I plan to continue climbing, and taking classes here as long as I live in the area. Thanks again to the Earth Treks staff!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This is better than jogging!”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Earth Treks Climbing Center has become my favorite way to exercise. It is low impact and you can push yourself as hard or as easy as you need to for your exercise program. The staff is excellent and very safety conscious. As a member of the "retired", I have to the option of climbing during the periods of the day/week when the gym isn't crowded.... and it does get crowded. This is a family gym, with all age groups and with all the noise and hubbub that comes with that.

There is a well equipped sales shop and a side gym for strength and cardio classes/training/exercise.

The staff will set up people for you to climb with so you don't need to show up with a climbing partner.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank larryell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Massive indoor climbing walls!”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

You can choose climbs as challenging as you like. Lots of options and knowledgeable staff.

Helpful?
Thank mrktwise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
303 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“good way to try indoor rock climbing”
Reviewed March 25, 2012

for $20 I was given a fellow who was the puppetmaster on my belay get up and allowed three walls to climb. I did a beginner first and was up and down quickly. Then, a more advanced one which was harder but I did it. Finally, I was lead to the hardest wall and only made it halfway. As it gets harder the stepping stones and rocks to grab are further apart and smaller. I wore sneakers and found them too bulky. Something with rubber grips but more form fitting would do better.

Helpful?
Thank travellingangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Earth Treks Climbing Center also viewed

 

Been to Earth Treks Climbing Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing