We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique local pie”
Review of Ledo Restaurant

Ledo Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 109 Restaurants in College Park
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
DC Region
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A unique local pie”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This chain, which now has franchises throughout the mid-Atlantic, started just down the road in Adelphi, MD.
Their signature pie boasts a very thin, some would say insubstantial, crust and a tomato sauce that is decidedly sweeter than most.
If either of those are not to your taste, this is probably not the place to get a pizza.
However, as the success of the chain would attest , most people seem to like the pie. The thin crust,makes it not as filling as many and Ledo's has achieved a remarkable consistency. It is not really a grown-up's place, even though this restuarant is in the heart of College Park.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OlSloaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    27
    14
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Needham
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Very big pizza, very good prices”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Pizzas were huge, and heavy. Long menu with lots of basic pub food. Fast service, big portions, reasonable prices, and fast, friendly staff. a great place, even on game days.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rooney10Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clueless, careless service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The pizza here is acceptable, not great in any way, and the sauce...could the secret ingredient be...sugar. Honey Boo Boo might feel right at home here.

Seriously, we arrived, the ladies at the host podium were disinterested. It was Friday night and the restaurant was only about 1/3 full...clue number one.

We were taken to a table. The hostess placed menus on the table and walked away. Said nothing about wait staff being with us soon or who they would be. Nothing about was the table okay? There were many empty booths and tables and we were a party of two. So we were sat at a table with occupants on either side. On one side, a gentleman of nearly 300 pounds with his chair nearly back against our table. He had some self awareness and tried to scoot in to make room. On the other side, a family of three. Mom, with her back to our table and pushing 200 pounds herself, also imposing on our space. We squeezed in and made the best of it.

Next, we were ignored for nearly 10 minutes. Plenty of staff, few customers. Now I am really wondering what this place is all about. Several wait staff walk by us and glance...not a kind word that someone will be with us...not an offer to get a beverage...nothing. Just a look like we were jettisoned in and they didn't know why we were there. Finally, wait staff arrived and took our order. Rather robotic. The food arrived rapidly and was okay. The salad is state-of-art for 1973. Nothing bright colored, dressing was bland, but the iceberg was crunchy.

I would recommend this for take out if you lived a block away and there was a snowstorm. Otherwise, don't bother. I hate giving this kind of review but the total lack of engagement observed from every staff member tells me it must start at the top. And that is sad for everyone.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CraftsmanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love me some pre-cooked bacon and sausage pizza.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Good friendly service at the bar. Quick service too. I loved the precooked bacon and sausage pizza. It's an old time favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackFisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A return to an old friend - great food choices”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family of 12 stopped in here for dinner while travelling in the area. This was our first visit to this new location having frequented the older Adelphi establishment during our time in College Park. We had an excellent dinner and great service from the staff. They were very attentive and accommodating to all our needs. We had to have pizza with pre-cooked bacon, a must here and excellent as usual. We ordered up some wings and they were excellent, spicy hot and very tasty. Sandwiches, pastas, calzones, and pizzas were all delicious across the board as we left with only one small container of pizza! The kids meals are fairly big so you can probably get away with sharing. There is a bar area that didn't intrude into the general eating area. Overall facilities seemed about what I expected in downtown College Park. The parking garage seemed reasonable with a buck covering about 1-1/4 hrs time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonesFamily818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ledo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ledo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing