We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in College Park
Dallas, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and Convenient”
Reviewed April 1, 2007

In hotels I care mostly about clean and quiet, and this one fit the bill.

Quality Inn is the closest lodging to the College Park Metro (rail) station, an 11-minute walk. Lots of fast food and some sit-down dining within a block. U of Maryland is a couple hundred yards.

My small, single room was clean and about average for a motel. Staff upon check-in was just marking time; upon check-out the guy seemed really interested in my only complaint, which was more of an observation: the pigeons roosting outside the rooms would not let me sleep past 7:00 a.m.

The free breakfast was no better than the other ones I've seen over the years: all carbs, brought in boxes from somewhere else. I skipped it and went to Starbucks a block away.

I booked through the Southwest Airlines website and got an $83 rate - best deal I could find for a hotel near College Park.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, quiet
  • Disliked — Price - still too high
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    49
    61
    55
    71
See reviews for
85
29
37
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greensburg, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2007

I was very nervous about this hotel after reading the reviews. I was bringing 27 high school students and chaperones to DC and thought I would check out this hotel as an option. My son and I came for a long weekend over President's day.

We could not check in early. Not a strike, but would have definitely been a perk. The website said three blocks to the Metro, I'm not sure what the standard definition of a "block" is, but it was farther than I thoughte: GOOD: After walking to the hotel the day we arrived, we discovered they have a shuttle that will take you to the Metro and pick you up. Just call the hotel at their number and request the shuttle to pick you up. We tipped the driver each way as it was definitely a plus that I wasn't expecting.

Our room wasn't anything spectatuclar. It was not the quality that I expected from Quality Suites. It was more like an Econolodge. GOOD: Our room had new carpet which helped the rooms' presence. BAD: Our phone did not work in the room. After maintenance looked at they said "the carpet installers must have cut the line." OK. I mentioned that one of our sinks did not drain. I made the mistake of saying we had the second sink and the maintenance guy must have thought it was alright not to fix the one that wasn't working. I thought he should have volunteered to fix it. Guess I was wrong.

The breakfast was more than I expected. We had "make-your-own" waffles, toast, bagels, english waffles, fruit, cereal. It was pretty good, but not enough sitting room. It was over packed with people and the one lady taking care of the supplies and food coudn't keep up. She needed more help.

BAD: The general appearance of the place seems run down. The walks were very dirty and needed pressure washing. The ice dispenser and soda areas looked dirty as well. The bathroom was very dated. I'm not an orange/peach color fan and tile floor was very cold always.

GOOD: There is an Applebees next door and just around the corner is a CVS to buy snacks, drinks or other items that you forget or want to buy cheaper than in DC. On the Green Metro rail which is good if you are flying into BWI as you can take the B30 Express Bus to the Greenbelt Metro Station and then get off at the next stop for the hotel. The Green Metro line is convenient for going to the Smithsonians.

  • Liked — proximity to Metro station
  • Disliked — overal lack of "quality" that I expect from Choic hotels
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelsUnlimited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

Pasadena, MD
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2007

First off, I requested a non smoking room when I made my reservation. When I arrived, they was a non smoking tag on the door but that was about as far as it went. Once you entered the room, the smell of smoke was overpowering. One of the bed spreads had a burn hole in it. The sink had numerous burn marks, I guess from people putting their cigaretts there while they were shaving. The place was very unkept and dirty. The room was completely disgusting. I had planned on staying 2 nights, but only stayed one. I slept in my clothes that night. The evening front desk staff was rude at best when I complained about the room. And of course, there is never a manager around when you want to speak to one.
No matter what the price, this is not the place to stay. I think a pig pen is cleaner that the room I was in.
When I returned home, I wrote a letter to the corporate office with my complaints. All they did was say they were sorrying that I didn't have a pleasant stay, and that they hoped we would give them a second chance. That was it. I really wasn't looking for anything, but they could have been just a little more customer friendly.
Do yourself and your family a favor, go to the Holiday Inn up the street a few miles, it will be well worth your piece of mind for cleanliness. That is where I stayed on my second night in town.
But then again, if you like sleeping in a dirty, disgusting, old motel, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything. The place is a dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not, under any circumstances, stay here. You will be sorry.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank One Joe Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed here because it is the closest hotel to Univ of Maryland and I was giving a talk there. The room was reasonably clean but a little old. The breakfast was not very appetizing. The most annoying thing was that there was no Internet available.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank milypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2006

My boyfriend and I had been on the road for fifteen hours straight. All we wanted was a warm bed and some sleep. Which is what an INN of QUALITY should provide. Right? Read on.

Our tiredness was met with a dingy room with a fresh supply of dirty, stale sheets stretched over a delightful cardboard-like mattress lacking any spring, and wallpaper that had absorbed years of use and was yellowing a la "SEVEN". This place: Sloth. The fact we didn't leave only goes to show how tired we were.

Let's continue.

Behind that disgusting wallpaper were the thinnest walls I have ever seen. Or I should say, HEARD. The next day, my alarm clock turned out to be the crystal clear sounds of a man using the bathroom from a COMPLETELY separate room. The worst part was I could hear everything the man was doing in the restroom. Everything. Every last shuffle, drip, fart.

The entire building shook beautifully whenever a guest closed a door down the hall, with a gorgeous echo. At any moment one could hear the dulcet jabbering of others by the elevator, or anywhere. And now that I think of it, I do remember my skin being itchy after we left - so make what you will of the bedbug claim.

There are some things worth getting a deal for in life. $50-$75 bucks on a disgusting place not good enough to be called even a motel is not one of them. DC is a free town anyway, the museums are free, the sights are free mostly, spend on a better place.

Or, if you don't believe me, ask for a walk through if you want the biggest laugh of your life.

I have been to several third world countries in my travels, have stayed in many places, and I have to say most of their accomodatons were above this one. In AMERICA.

It was the most horrible place I've ever stayed at in this country. And a bad accomodation with a bad night's sleep takes a bad toll on the rest of your vacation, as my boyfriend and I unfortunately learned. How are you supposed to have fun when you feel tired and gross?

Later, when my boyfriend checked out, he said the clerk didn't bother to ask how our stay was.

Gee I wonder why.

Don't go.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2006

The wireless connection did not work - I spent two days at the hotel and asked repeatedly but no one could help me get an IP address.

When I returned home, I was itching all over. Coincidentally, I had a dermatology routine appointment the next day. The first thing the doctor said when he started examining me was "where did you get bitten by bedbugs?". Then, I looked the hotel up on teh web and found in this site that others have mentioned bedbugs too!!!

Skip the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 566 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2006

I stayed at this motel and considering the price I paid, it is very good value. I had a fine room for nine nights with very nice complimentary breakfasts. I paid seventy-four dollars per night plus taxes. For the Washington,D.C. area, that is quite reasonable.. This motel is in a very good neighborhood close to the Metro and several nice eating establishments.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Park hotels
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 12 in College Park
319 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 12 in College Park
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 12 in College Park
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 7200 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 min drive to Washington DC. We are 3 blocks away from metro station. FREE SHUTTLE to metro. 1 block away from UMD. Grand deluxe complimentary breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Grand Pool and fitness center. Non - smoking Single rooms in TOWER BUILDING with elevator. Also available, Quads with Microwave and Fridge and Upgraded Suite with Kitchenette. We have banquet space for 50 -250 people.BWI, Dulles, Reagan. All accessible through Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel College Park
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn College Park
College Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing