We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting and Dirty” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Pasadena, MD
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disgusting and Dirty”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2007

First off, I requested a non smoking room when I made my reservation. When I arrived, they was a non smoking tag on the door but that was about as far as it went. Once you entered the room, the smell of smoke was overpowering. One of the bed spreads had a burn hole in it. The sink had numerous burn marks, I guess from people putting their cigaretts there while they were shaving. The place was very unkept and dirty. The room was completely disgusting. I had planned on staying 2 nights, but only stayed one. I slept in my clothes that night. The evening front desk staff was rude at best when I complained about the room. And of course, there is never a manager around when you want to speak to one.
No matter what the price, this is not the place to stay. I think a pig pen is cleaner that the room I was in.
When I returned home, I wrote a letter to the corporate office with my complaints. All they did was say they were sorrying that I didn't have a pleasant stay, and that they hoped we would give them a second chance. That was it. I really wasn't looking for anything, but they could have been just a little more customer friendly.
Do yourself and your family a favor, go to the Holiday Inn up the street a few miles, it will be well worth your piece of mind for cleanliness. That is where I stayed on my second night in town.
But then again, if you like sleeping in a dirty, disgusting, old motel, this is the place for you.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything. The place is a dump
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not, under any circumstances, stay here. You will be sorry.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank One Joe Cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    59
    52
    62
See reviews for
78
26
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2006

Stayed here because it is the closest hotel to Univ of Maryland and I was giving a talk there. The room was reasonably clean but a little old. The breakfast was not very appetizing. The most annoying thing was that there was no Internet available.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank milypan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2006

My boyfriend and I had been on the road for fifteen hours straight. All we wanted was a warm bed and some sleep. Which is what an INN of QUALITY should provide. Right? Read on.

Our tiredness was met with a dingy room with a fresh supply of dirty, stale sheets stretched over a delightful cardboard-like mattress lacking any spring, and wallpaper that had absorbed years of use and was yellowing a la "SEVEN". This place: Sloth. The fact we didn't leave only goes to show how tired we were.

Let's continue.

Behind that disgusting wallpaper were the thinnest walls I have ever seen. Or I should say, HEARD. The next day, my alarm clock turned out to be the crystal clear sounds of a man using the bathroom from a COMPLETELY separate room. The worst part was I could hear everything the man was doing in the restroom. Everything. Every last shuffle, drip, fart.

The entire building shook beautifully whenever a guest closed a door down the hall, with a gorgeous echo. At any moment one could hear the dulcet jabbering of others by the elevator, or anywhere. And now that I think of it, I do remember my skin being itchy after we left - so make what you will of the bedbug claim.

There are some things worth getting a deal for in life. $50-$75 bucks on a disgusting place not good enough to be called even a motel is not one of them. DC is a free town anyway, the museums are free, the sights are free mostly, spend on a better place.

Or, if you don't believe me, ask for a walk through if you want the biggest laugh of your life.

I have been to several third world countries in my travels, have stayed in many places, and I have to say most of their accomodatons were above this one. In AMERICA.

It was the most horrible place I've ever stayed at in this country. And a bad accomodation with a bad night's sleep takes a bad toll on the rest of your vacation, as my boyfriend and I unfortunately learned. How are you supposed to have fun when you feel tired and gross?

Later, when my boyfriend checked out, he said the clerk didn't bother to ask how our stay was.

Gee I wonder why.

Don't go.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piscataway, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2006

The wireless connection did not work - I spent two days at the hotel and asked repeatedly but no one could help me get an IP address.

When I returned home, I was itching all over. Coincidentally, I had a dermatology routine appointment the next day. The first thing the doctor said when he started examining me was "where did you get bitten by bedbugs?". Then, I looked the hotel up on teh web and found in this site that others have mentioned bedbugs too!!!

Skip the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eddomingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
343 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 557 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2006

I stayed at this motel and considering the price I paid, it is very good value. I had a fine room for nine nights with very nice complimentary breakfasts. I paid seventy-four dollars per night plus taxes. For the Washington,D.C. area, that is quite reasonable.. This motel is in a very good neighborhood close to the Metro and several nice eating establishments.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margatemensch2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2006

When my family arrived late one night we were not impressed with the lobby where we checked in. The lobby was very nice but the staff was rude. When we found our room it was 2am so we were ready for bed. My two small children were to sleep on the pull out sofa bed. When I pulled out the sofa bed the linens on the bed were from the previous customers (still waded up inside the bed). I called the front desk (the rude people) and ask for clean linens. They did not keep linens in the lobby and she would put us on the list for tomorrow and offered no apologies. In the meantime my two children had nothing to sleep on (no pillows or linens). We luckily had two blankets in the car from our trip. I asked the desk person to leave a message for the manager to call me but he never returned my call (I also left two other messages that week). Other problems - sticky kitchen and bathroom floors. Our bath towels were not changed everyday. One day they took the dirty towels and turned them around on the towel bar so it appeared clean. Carpet was worn out. Electrical outlet by the bed was pulled from the wall with about an inch of dust around it (can you say fire hazard?)

This hotel looked great on the internet when I booked the reservation but was a nightmare when we arrived. There were people playing cards on one of the room tables out in the parking lot next to our room and at night there were people just wandering about in the parking lot. This did not make me feel safe at all.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2006

Great location- a 4 block walk to the metro
about 20 min ride to downtown DC + attractions.
Walk to dining locations- applebee's, boston market, chipolte, noodles & company, coldstone creamery, & much more. Also close to a CVS and bank of america.
Decent value- free breakfast & parking. there is also a shuttle to the metro if you need it.

Could have been cleaner in the shower, room had a little bit of a musky smell.There were also many pigeons on the building which I could see as a turn-off but being from new york I didn't really mind that. If you are looking for a cheap place to sleep at it wasn't bad at all.


I would reccomend it and return again.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redskynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Park hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#7 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 7200 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 min drive to Washington DC. We are 3 blocks away from metro station. FREE SHUTTLE to metro. 1 block away from UMD. Grand deluxe complimentary breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Grand Pool and fitness center. Non - smoking Single rooms in TOWER BUILDING with elevator. Also available, Quads with Microwave and Fridge and Upgraded Suite with Kitchenette. We have banquet space for 50 -250 people.BWI, Dulles, Reagan. All accessible through Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel College Park
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn College Park
College Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing