We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filthy Room” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in College Park
New Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Filthy Room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This place is the pits. We went to our room after traveling from Mass at 9:45 PM. I went to the bathroom first thing after all that traveling. The toilet was filthy. I refused to use it. I noticed a light in a room across the way from our room and saw a women inside and there was a cleaning cart outside. I went and asked if she was the cleaning lady and she said no but she would get her and tell her the problem. I went to my room and saw another women go there and they proceeded to make the beds in that room. When they were done they left and went to another room. I went to the front desk and complained and he called the cleaning women. He said to go back to our room and she would be there. She never came. I went back to the desk and he said he would come himself. I came back and he came back and looked at the toilet. The cleaning women had left for the evening. Then he found the night lady who came in with only a spray bottle and a toilet brush. No paper towel or cleaning cloth. To clean the toilet seat she used toilet paper. We finally closed the door for bed at 10:45 In the morning when my husband used the shower the soap dish was all sticky. Later that night when we went back to the bathroom we only had half a roll of toilet paper and the tissue box was empty. The wall paper is curling up on the bathroom wall and repairs around the doorway were done haphazardly. It was a very ugly and outdated room. The room smells musty and moldy. The cleaning staff should be fired. Awful, awful experience. This hotel should be on the program "Hotel Impossible."

Room Tip: Do not even think about choosing a room here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosetreky2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QISMD, Webmaster at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites during your last visit to our area.

I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction. We appreciate all forms of guests’ feedback, and it is through constructive comments that we are able to continually improve our services and facilities to all of our valued guests such as yourself.

The entire issue related to the cleanliness and other hygiene related problem in the room has been investigated.

Housekeeping staff received extra training concerning their responsibilities in carrying out their duties in cleaning and properly maintaining the rooms of our valued guests.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn & Suites. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    49
    59
    52
    62
See reviews for
78
26
34
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed overnight for a graduation. The rooms were clean and well-stocked with towels. My only complaint is that one of the beds in my room was so lumpy you could see the lumps when the bed was made; no one slept in that bed. The hotel had a very nice complimentary breakfast with a larger variety than most continental breakfasts.

Room Tip: When booking for a family event, book very early and request that the rooms are grouped together. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gramsx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Only 15 min to d.c. Which was nice because i was working there for a week and the price was good. Not expecting the ritz i was disapointed with room quality in need of updating from top to bottom. Bathroom was kinda gross with water stains on walls and ceilings. The room was clean but just worn out. Close to a few restraunts and alot of tv channels were some a few upsides to my stay.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroadagain216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel prices were very reasonable and was close to family. The hotel is located in a "neighborhood type" setting. Close to restaurants and local businesses. There were alot of people walking around which made gave an impression of being in a safe area. The room we stayed in seemed newly renovated. The breakfast area was not the biggest but there was a diner located next door if one wanted a bigger breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bear, Delaware
Level Contributor
271 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This hotel is only 8 miles to DC, and it was relatively cheap. The room was dated..the carpet was worn , and the walls looked liked something had leaked. The bed was very uncomfortable. The people were friendly at the front desk. It worked for us since we just slept, woke up took showers and then checked out. The lobby was very nice and it had free WiFi & a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank valeriecolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QISMD, Webmaster at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area. I am glad that your stay was a pleasant one.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Maintenance staff was advised of the problem experienced with the carpet, Walls and Beds in the room assigned to you.

• The front desk Staff was informed of the nice things you said about them and received our commendation.

• I am glad that you find our hotel lobby very nice. Housekeeping staff received our commendation.

I hope that the next time you visit our area; you will once again choose to stay at
Quality Inn & Suites. We shall look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

This is a tired and disappointing property. Some rooms appeared to be partially renovated (updated furniture), but other parts (carpet) appear worn. Though the desk staff is pleasant, it appears that they do not clean often, making beds and replacing towels, at best. I understand that one does not stay at such a property expecting luxury. I certainly did not. But what one expects is a clean, well-tended room. This failed to even meet that minimum expectation. Stay a little further from campus, in a lot nicer hotel. You won't regret it.

From the constant step-by-step management responses to negative reviews, it's clear that their "retraining" isn't getting through to the employees. I'd recommend undertaking the following steps:

- Fire the current housekeeping staff.

- Hire new housekeeping staff who will actually clean the rooms. This includes vacuuming, dusting, removing cobwebs, removing trash (old used shampoos, used soaps, pamphlets), and scrubbing the tub/toilet/sinks).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerDalton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QISMD, Webmaster at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Quality Inn & Suites for your recent stay in our area.

We appreciate your efforts in giving us a review.

We take our guest reviews quite seriously. Upon receipt of your review, we have taken the following.

Housekeeping staff have received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees and to ensure that all rooms are properly checked for cleanliness and amenities before checking in new guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay with us.

I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

You get what you pay for, I guess. Pretty grungy, tired rooms and poor standard of cleanliness. I was in a group of twelve; not many were happy with what they found. On the plus side, the wifi works and it's free. Breakfast somewhat forgettable, served on plastic disposable cutlery.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QISMD, Webmaster at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am terribly sorry to hear that your stay with us was not to your satisfaction.

The cleanliness issues you encountered have been addressed with our housekeeping team and we will improve our process to ensure all rooms reach the highest standards.

We take our reviews very seriously, and I think you will be greatly pleased. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these College Park hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#7 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 7200 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-3204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 min drive to Washington DC. We are 3 blocks away from metro station. FREE SHUTTLE to metro. 1 block away from UMD. Grand deluxe complimentary breakfast. Free Wireless Internet. Grand Pool and fitness center. Non - smoking Single rooms in TOWER BUILDING with elevator. Also available, Quads with Microwave and Fridge and Upgraded Suite with Kitchenette. We have banquet space for 50 -250 people.BWI, Dulles, Reagan. All accessible through Metro station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels and Priceline so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel College Park
Quality Inn And Suites
Quality Inn College Park
College Park Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing