We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure why the bad reviews . . .”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not sure why the bad reviews . . .”
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We stay here often with a child attending Maryland. Nothing fancy but clean and comfortable. Free wifi and parking. Staff always friendly. For a few nights it's fine and I've stayed at worse in the area. A microwave and fridge in the room. With points it's always free . . . Right off highway and on route 1

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank IrishKate57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    104
    85
    42
    20
See reviews for
133
39
24
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I do not know how to leave a 2 1/2 dot rating so I am being generous with the 3 dot.

This was the fourth time I stayed at this hotel and I will say it may have been my last.

Check in was seamless. They upgraded the entrance and waiting area to more of a business center.
The rooms seem to have been remodeled but some things to point out that were not thought out.
1. Why position the light switch so far away from the front door, especially when entering a dark room. Took over thirty seconds to find; not easy with hands full luggage.
2. Why is the toilet paper roll so far away from the toilet? I don't want to have to get up to reach the TP
3. Water pressure is very low in the shower.
4. The newer sink is pretty but there is nowhere to place my toiletry bag. What happened to the vanity sized sink?
5. The television reception was poor.
6. Is it really necessary for the service maid to come at 8:15 am to clean the room, and then come back at 9:00?
7. Last thing I want to do after checking in is walk back out to my car to place a parking sticker in my window.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Dear MGomezD,

Thank you for your loyalty in choosing Holiday Inn for your travels. It is nice to know that you had a smooth check-in, however, we regret that the room quality was a letdown during your stay. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. It means a lot to us that you have taken the time to write an insightful review and we hope you will return someday to see how we are continuously improving.

Comments like these are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. We hope that if your travels brings you back to our area, you would give us another opportunity to provide the excellent accommodations you were expecting.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is clearly very old and could use a remodel. For the price, I feel that they could do much better. Most Maryland hotels are 2 things: dingy and expensive, and this one certainly lives up to that. The room seemed fairly clean, but I wouldn't rate the cleanliness fantastic by any means.

Even though they have a large, half empty parking lot, you have to get a tag from the desk. The security guard outside reminded me to remove all valuables from my car. I'm not sure whether I should have felt safer because a security guard was there or worried that there was a need for one.

Overall this hotel is exactly what I rated it - just okay.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B33rMePlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear B33rMePlz,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. Our efforts are always to ensure our guests are satisfied and our hotel is maintained to be comfortable while you are with us. It is disappointing to know that the the condition of our facilities fell short of your expectations. We have taken note of your feedback as this will help us to continually improve the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

We value your comments and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Due to circumstances out of our control we were diverted here overnight from BWI. The staff made multiple travel weary groups as comfortable as possible. Charlie the engineer, Diana in the restaurant, Lisa, Kylea, Lillian, Keisha and Gerardo and every person on staff we met offered exceptional service. Thank you for the excellent care.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summertravelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Summertravelin,
Thanks for the excellent comments about the our staff members, I have shared you comments with the entire staff but I have given a special thanks to Charlie, Diane, Lisa, Kylea, Lilian, Keisha and Gerado.

I sincerely appreciate your warm and kind words and glad that our staff made you feel welcomed at our property. Thanks for your feedback and hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was at this hotel in late July, 2014 for a business meeting in nearby College Park, MD. I stayed for 2 days and it was in a very convenient location if you have meetings at Univ. Maryland or many of the businesses in the College Park / Greenbelt area. The staff was friendly enough and the rooms were not in bad shape. I agree with other commenters that it could use a renovation - it is a bit dark. The bed in my room was a bit soft for my taste and the air conditioning unit was a bit loud. Nothing that I could not live with, but not exactly a stellar experience. There is free wifi which was quite decent - as compared to other hotels I have stayed in. The breakfast area was a bit crowded the one morning I went there - but there were clearly lots of vacationing families at the hotel, so service was a little slow. Overall, it is not a bad place. It is clean and in a good location and I would not have any problems staying there again for work. However, if you are looking for a five-star experience, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bama_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Bama_world_traveler,
We are sorry that we did not exceed your expectations on your recent visit to our property. We are planning some renovations in our second tower within the next few months. I hope that you will return to see the improvement in some of our guest rooms. Thank you for your feedback and hope that you will come back soon.

Warm Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We picked this hotel because it was in a quiet location but close enough to DC. It was just about what we expected-good location. We did have a problem with the room we were assigned and I went to the front desk to ask if we could get another room and they were able to do that and did not charge any extra for that. It was very comfortable and the service was great. All around great experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jagianelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear jagianelli,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel an offer feedback for improvement. We hope your travels will bring your back to our doors.
Thank you so much.

Sincerly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed here twice over 2 weeks (for a total fo 5 nights). The hotel was convenient to where I was working. The rate seemed very low for the area. I found out why. The hotel seriously needs an update. The rooms are dark, the lighting is bad and the furniture is dark and circa 1980's. There was a girls basketball tournament in the area and several teams were staying in the hotel and they were noisy late into the night. Not that the noise was the hotel's fault but the sound really carries in the halls. The restaurant attached to the hotel was not very good. I ate there one night and had the salad bar as part of my meal. There was almost no lettuce and the pastas and other items looked like they had been sitting out too long. Fortunately, there's a Buffalo Wild Wings and Chipotle across the parking lot (about a 5 min walk). There is not enough parking and when I arrived from the airport late at night I had to park well away from the entrance there were some sketchy looking characters hanging out in the parking lot - I did not feel safe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistolpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Pistolpjh,
We are sorry that we did exceed your expectations. We will be doing some renovations within next few months to some guest rooms, and hope that you will return to see some of the new updates at the property.

I have shared your comments with our entire staff and management and we are re-training on some of the items you have indicated about the restaurant. We also provide security to ensure all of our guest feel secure at our location. We apologize and hope you will afford us another opportunity to serve you. Thanks for your comments and feedback.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
450 reviews
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
279 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#8 of 11 in College Park
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington College Park

Property: Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Address: 10000 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740-4207
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington College Park 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the Capital Beltway at the junctions of I-495 / I-95 and US 1, the Holiday Inn Hotel Washington-College Park is just minutes from the University of Maryland.This College Park hotel is in close proximity to Washington DC and its many attractions, the Greenbelt Metro station, USDA, the National Archives, and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Our complimentary shuttle service will get you where you need to go, including the Greenbelt Metro and train station.Our guest rooms feature complimentary, wireless high speed Internet, and a décor that will make you feel at home. The Holiday Inn Washington-College Park has 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space, an indoor pool and sauna, and fitness center. Our Moose Creek Steak House restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; and, Kids Eat Free! The Holiday Inn College Park has something for everyone. Whether traveling for business or leisure, please allow us to provide you with the service you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington College Park Hotel College Park
Holiday Inn College Park
College Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing