We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“functional and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“functional and friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

I stayed at the Holiday Inn College Park (for the second time) for 3 nights in Dec. 2012, while doing some work at the National Archives nearby (it's an easy 5-10 minute drive, depending on traffic and, at least on a previous visit, the hotel shuttle bus could be used if you didn't have a car). It's a standard Holiday Inn, functional, with friendly staff. As some reviewers have noted, it could maybe do with a spring-clean (especially the lobby); also, two of the five exercuse machines - the two treadmills - were out of action for 2 of the 3 days I was there. But everything worked and the check in/out was fast and friendly. The adjoining Moose Creek restaurant does a good buffet breakfast for $11; but the lunch and dinner experience is not so good - tired veggie wrap and awful ribs. Fortunately there are alternatives in the neighbourhood, including a Buffalo Wings (walkable) where the food and beer are OK, if you don't mind the barrage of noise and TV screens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanlid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    103
    82
    41
    20
See reviews for
129
38
24
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

My family, the Washingtons, and I want to thank you all for the festive atmosphere and friendly service, and your excellent--delicious breakfast buffet. The hospitaly crew and managers did a great job in assuring that we had a wonderful and rememberable time. Kudo to all involved!

Cosby Washington

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, I have shared this with the entire staff and appreciate your kind words.

Thanks so much as we appreciate your business. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Visiting my granddaughter at College Park recently, I checked Tripadvisor for hotel recommendations. Somehow the Holiday Inn came up as no. 1. Well I booked a stay there. What a mistake. If it is no. 1, I'd hate to stay at no. 2. Holiday Inn must be "cooking" the reviews. Dirty, stained, old, hall carpets should have given me a clue but I had already paid in advance. First time I've been seriously mislead by Tripadvisor. The room was marginal, at best. Owners must be paying people to write glowing reviews. On a scale of 1 to 5, my rating of 1 is too generous. And someone gave it a 5 rating. B... S...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LarryN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay, we are sorry that we failed to meet your expectations during your visit. The carpet that you referred to is being addressed and will be corrected very soon.

This carpet does not reflect the rest of our property and we have replaced the carpet in the entire hotel. We did fall short in finishing the area in which you described and are waiting for the carpet to arrive to the property.

In reference to the guest reviews those comments are from guest that have actually stayed at our property and have been satisfied customers. I only regret that we could not change the carpet before your visit to our property.

We hope that you enjoyed the rest of your visit and hopefully will give us another opportunity to put our best foot forward with you and your family.
Hospitably Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a very enjoyable stay at the Holiday Inn, College Park. The room type we reserved was gone when we checked-in, which was a little bit of a drag, but they gave us a nice discount and we got into a bigger room the next night. Everything was clean and comfortable, employees very friendly, restaurant next door good food and service.

My only complaint is that the pool is closed from 10am to 5pm, pretty much the prime time my son wanted to swim, but we worked around that.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators and facing the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliciavance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thanks so much for your positive comments about the hotel and staff. I have shared your comments with them and appreciate you taking the time to give such wonderful comments.

Thanks for staying with us as we know you have many choices and we appreciate your business.

Thanks again Hospitably yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Came in from DCA for a 3day conference. Not walking distance from Metro and hotel shuttle was not reliable for transport to and from Metro station.
My room was clean and bathroom had been recently remodeled, although the room itself was a little shabby. Customer service was good.
Conference room was fine and catering at lunch time was quite good. The restaurant is nothing special though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We are so glad that you enjoyed your overall visit at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and are re-training and re-focusing the restaurant staff to exceed customer expectations.

Thanks for your feedback; this is truly a benefit to help training our staff for superior customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D'Iberville, Mississippi, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Great bunch of folks. Just stayed at the holiday inn college park for 2 nights. Hotel is looks plain from the outside, but it is very nice. Great steak house restraunt with good specials. It's the folks working st this hotel that make it special. I travel a lot and have never experienced a more friendly or helpful group. Kept waiting to encounter one person with a bad attitude but never did Really a great bunch of folks. Management should be proud.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, we are also pleased that the staff created that warm atmosphere during your recent visit. Please keep us in mind when your in the area, and also we appreciate your business.
Sincerely Yours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We chose this hotel while visiting family in the Silver Springs MD area. It was our home base. Working in a service business myself I am very aware of customer service. This hotel perfomed wonderfully, from check in to check out we felt very welcomed. In particular, we got back to the hotel late on Sunday evening (around 10:30) and I was really looking forward to a relaxing glass of wine but the lounge had closed due to inactivity. The front desk clerk (Lisa??) called someone to see if they could open the lounge to accomodate my wine request and take up to our room. Deb ( I don't know what her title was) graciously opened the bar, and poured two healthy glasses of wine for us. It was so much appreciated and it was done spontaneously and graciously.
The rooms were clean and comfortable and every employee we came in contact with smiled and said hello. Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gay I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HICP, General Manager at Holiday Inn Washington College Park, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
I have shared your warm sentiments with the staff especially Lisa and Debra, and we are so glad the staff exceeded your expectations. We hope this will bring you back to our hotel for years to come, thanks for the kind words of praise. We appreciate your business and you as a customer. Thanks Again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
1.7 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#10 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Washington College Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Washington College Park

Property: Holiday Inn Washington College Park
Address: 10000 Baltimore Ave, College Park, MD 20740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Washington College Park 3*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the Capital Beltway at the junctions of I-495 / I-95 and US 1, the Holiday Inn Hotel Washington-College Park is just minutes from the University of Maryland.This College Park hotel is in close proximity to Washington DC and its many attractions, the Greenbelt Metro station, USDA, the National Archives, and NASA Goddard Space Flight Center. Our complimentary shuttle service will get you where you need to go, including the Greenbelt Metro and train station.Our guest rooms feature complimentary, wireless high speed Internet, and a décor that will make you feel at home. The Holiday Inn Washington-College Park has 10,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space, an indoor pool and sauna, and fitness center. Our Moose Creek Steak House restaurant and lounge serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; and, Kids Eat Free! The Holiday Inn College Park has something for everyone. Whether traveling for business or leisure, please allow us to provide you with the service you deserve. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Washington College Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Washington College Park Hotel College Park
Holiday Inn College Park
College Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing