We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to DC”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to DC”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Was there for April vacation. 4/21-4/24. I thought everything was excellent. Courtesy shuttle to the Metro. Nice clean room. Nice continental style breakfast each morning. My boys and I enjoyed the indoor pool, shuffle board court and putting green. Plenty of local restaurants to choose from whether walking or driving. If I go back to this area, I will definitely look to stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    58
    62
    50
    68
See reviews for
108
41
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We would definitely come back to this location again! We had a lovely stay at the Clarion, and the staff was great, friendly and very helpful. Alan at the front desk was wonderful….a great help, informative and very accommodating. We did not get the chance to meet Fazzi, because we were exploring the city most of the time during the day, but when we needed info she got back to us very quickly. Our room was comfortable and clean, and had the general basics found in most hotel rooms. It was conveniently located on the first floor near the pool area. The restaurant at the Clarion was great, the food was fresh and very tasty. We tried several dishes we had never tried before, and the service by our waiter “G” was excellent. The pricing & portion size was wonderful. Definitely try the restaurant during your stay! The continental breakfast was just right to start each day, and was serviced extremely well with a very attentive breakfast lady. Free Shuttle runs in the morning and early afternoon, plan on a 15 min to 30 min wait time, as it also services another local hotel. Bus stop is right out front. Across the street is a 7-Eleven, Burger King, Taco Bell, and a Denny’s. METRO: If you are visiting for a few days and plan on using the metro to make several stops please research the day passes that offer unlimited rides.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed at the Clarion Inn in April 2014. This hotel was more than expected. For the price we were expecting lower quality than we received. From the indoor heated pool and Jacuzzi to the shuttle service, we were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast included a homemade waffle, fresh fruit, yogurt, hot coffee and doughnuts. The shuttle service drop off and pick up, convenient to the College Park Metro, University of Maryland, or anywhere in a five-mile radius was a great money saver. The indoor rooms are adjacent to the pool area and can be noisy at times but that was expected due to large group checking in, but things quiet down around 10pm when the fun dome closes. My young daughter was happy to go swimming everyday in the heated indoor pool. With all the groups coming in we met people from all over the world. Karaoke in the Varsity lounge and dinner at the Asian Fusion restaurant (located inside the hotel) meant we did not have to travel far after a long day visiting the Washington D.C. area. Staying at the Clarion Inn and Fun dome was like a vacation during a vacation. Thanks Alan and April at the front desk. They made sure all of our needs were taken care of. There's no better stay in College Park. I am a guest for life.

Room Tip: For a quieter experience choose rooms on the outside and upstairs. Order shuttle service early somet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Outlook, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Middle of the road. Not run down, not super nice. Good for what we paid. Front desk was very helpful and friendly. Easy to get downtown DC and to the interstate. The rooms are in no way sound proof, can easily hear people outside and in the adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwphileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

I will break this review down into two parts,. We needed to stay one night in April due to my older daughter's UMD sorority function the following morning.
Short version:
-rude night desk staff
-roll away bed ordered over phone prior to arrival, but clerk never put it on order
-chlorine odor everywhere
-noisy, crowded, questionable clientele
-dated, stained up room with lumpy beds with questionable linens
-bizarre bathroom
-thin walls without soundproofing
-questionable security, safety
-stay ANYWHERE else.
Longer narrative:
On arrival, the motel was jumping due to a party going on. It was late, we (husband, younger daughter and myself) had driven close to 5 hours. On check in, the clerk said the rollaway wasn't put on the order, but seemed to blame this on us and proceeded to seem to ridicule us for her coworkers entertainment. She could have simply said, "I don't see it marked here, but I can add it." This went on and on. I was ready to just leave, but because of Maryland Day, I realized we were stuck, most hotels would be booked. We didn't fight her or raise our voices. Realize we were exhausted from the ride.
The clerk must have realized she was unreasonable and being a real witch, or else a coworker kicked her,and suddenly she became more professional and started acting more pleasant. It was a weird Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde moment. She told us to call the front desk if the roll away wasn't already in the room (which was how she should have handled it from the beginning) and gave us her name and told us she wanted to make our stay pleasant...I now believe in the Twilight Zone from her behavior....and yes i remember her name.
The drive to the back of the lot was an obstacle course due to the congregation of people in cars for the attached restaurant. Rooms are divided odd and even on different sides of the building, making finding your room into a treasure hunt. Patrons of this motel hang out outside of their rooms smoking, talking loudly- like a trailer park- way into the small hours of the morning. My daughter looked into a room as we passed and she wanted to know if these loud people were "living" there. Once these people were back in their room, the noise just came right through the walls.
The roll away was not in the room. we called and the response was prompt. When my husband went to tip the man, it seemed like he never gets tipped....ever. The room itself was 60's throwback. I've never done this before, but I checked for bedbugs. None. I was disgusted, but tired. Just one night. My husband went out with our college daughter and left me alone with my younger daughter. We set the locks very quickly. We did not feel safe. When he returned, we jammed a chair under the doorknob for more safety.
In the morning the fun continued as I went to shower. I am 5'2" tall and yet once I stepped into the tub to shower, my head cleared the ceiling with only a few inches to spare. The shower head was almost eye level and it would have been a snap for me to change the shower curtain or lightbulbs in the ceiling fixture. I had to squat to rinse shampoo from my hair. I warned my husband who is considerably taller than I am. Think Gulliver's Travels. If you are tall, don't even bother....take a bath.
By the time we got to the complimentary breakfast it was mostly gone, but really good coffee. It was in this area you could see how the hotel had once just been a motel situated around a pool and a roof had been tacked on to enclose it. My husband went to check out and the morning crew was Iike night and day to the night crew. Extremely pleasant.
The best part of the stay was leaving. I can't understand the good reviews this motel got...but then again, I now know the Twilight Zone exists. There are plenty of other hotel/ motels in the area. Book early elsewhere. You will thank me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unoudeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

This hotel isn't bad - it's older and you can tell it's dated. The layout is strange - some rooms are inside the main building and others have exterior entrances. The room was clean and comfortable and the front desk staff were pleasant - I received a call to check and see if everything was okay shortly after getting in the room.

The main building has the FunDome area - it's a small indoor pool and a hot tub that wasn't working when I was there (much to my disappointment). There are also a handful of video games. The whole area was very dark and could have used some upgrades, including better lighting. I believe the county requires hotel pools to have lifeguards, so that probably limits the hours the pool is open in order to minimize costs.

There is a bar and restaurant on the premises - when I went, the place was dead and I wasn't even sure if the restaurant was open. I had a couple of drinks at the bar.

All in all, this was a really good value and I think it could be a really great establishment with a few upgrades and a little bit of maintenance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmoVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Upon check-in, we were upgraded, no cost, to an available larger room, which was really to our advantage, because our second day there we were snowed in. Very cozy and comfortable...good breakfast, and a nice Asian fusion restaurant on premises. Short walk to a 7-11 across the street, and not to far down the road was a strip mall with several inexpensive restaurants.
We used the shuttle to get to and from the Metro...we were on a tourist visit to DC, and only had a problem the last day when we waited almost 1 hour for pickup at the station in the evening...it was freezing cold outside, and involved several phonecalls to finally get picked up...no explanation or apology from driver...therefore, no tip from us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus College Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 8601 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-2130 (Formerly Best College Park Inn & Fundome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Fundome, an affordable, contemporary Maryland hotel conveniently located a few miles from Washington, DC. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, first-rate service and ample amenities, including an on-site restaurant, meeting rooms and the Fundome, an indoor activity area with heated pool, whirlpool, putting green and shuffleboard. Our convenient location makes it a breeze to reach the spectacular attractions that comprise the nation’s capital as well as the University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion College Park
Clarion Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing