We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Room was clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
SE Texas
1 review
“Room was clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a very small issue with the room but enjoyed all aspects of my stay. Liked how they transformed an old Holiday Inn outdoor motel into an indoor hotel. I enjoyed my stay and the staff was very friendly towards me. 95% of the room was clean and comfortable. The 5% is not even worth mentioning and I am sure was addressed immediately. Will return when returning to DC/Maryland area.

Room Tip: Had an interior room by shuffle board and it was quiet enough for me to rest comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jrp-openroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    57
    59
    45
    60
See reviews for
98
36
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Felt very unsafe staying there. The people hanging around in the parking lot were sketchy. Front desk clerk was not friendly or pleasant. Was run down, dirty. Breakfast not on par with other Choice Hotels. Will not return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cesca33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I stayed at the Clarion Hotel in College Park with my family for 2 days this summer. Our stay was organized by Carol Nelson of J and C Tours and Cruises. Ms. Nelson did a fabulous job in securing our stay at the Clarion. Our room was clean and comfortable. The fundome and its activities, which included a pool, shuffleboard, and a mini Putt-Putt, were very accessible. The free breakfast was great with many selections. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, too. We were travelling with a group that had to leave early for activities on one morning of our stay. The staff arranged to have breakfast served earlier than usual for our group. I would definitely stay at the Clarion and Fundome again.

Room Tip: The fundome is on the ground level and can be accessed right outside your room if you are staying on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malverne, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a group booked at the hotel it was a pleasure working with group sales the rates was reasonable my group leader stated that , the rooms were clean the breakfast was great the workers very nice to the group and overall her group had a wonderful stay I would book this property again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

My job requires me to travel and stay in hotels most of the year. First let me say this - my company pays my hotel expenses, so if I don't like a hotel, I find another one. I stayed at this hotel from March until September...around 200 days. The staff goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The indoor pool, hot tub, and exercise room were clean and modern. I have to return to DC at the end of Oct. and have my room already reserved. As a fellow traveler I hope this review helps you.

Room Tip: Ask if a large suite is available. They are perfect for a family unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank marty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I love to go to Washington, D.C., but find the hotel prices there to be quite high, so we love to stay in College Park, MD and take the train into the city. The free hotel shuttle allows us to to this and all we have to do is work our schedule around the shuttle availability hours. The drivers are great and go above and beyond to be helpful!
I am also in a wheelchair and the accessible room seems to have been recently updated, particularly the bathroom and is worth the money. The hotel is fairly clean, but the Asian restaurant, though the food is pretty good, seemed dated and could also use an update, which I am sure is somewhere in the plans.
The staff is very nice and courteous and I cannot complain. We have stayed there three times already and I'm sure we will again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Wenonah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Overall we were very pleased with our recent Clarion stay. One very big disappointment was the breakfast which was offered. There were no choices within the egg/protein selection. Cold hard boiled eggs each and every morning. Also, one particular morning at 9:45A they ran out of eggs and the server refused to replenish. We did contact the front desk and get remediation. We traveled cross country using the Clarion Family of Hotels and this was the worst breakfast we ever experienced. We loved the family activites offered and this offset our poor breakfast experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Naomi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
College Park Hotel & Suites near Univ. of Maryland
1.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 8601 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740 (Formerly Best College Park Inn & Fundome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Fundome, an affordable, contemporary Maryland hotel conveniently located a few miles from Washington, DC. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, first-rate service and ample amenities, including an on-site restaurant, meeting rooms and the Fundome, an indoor activity area with heated pool, whirlpool, putting green and shuffleboard. Our convenient location makes it a breeze to reach the spectacular attractions that comprise the nation’s capital as well as the University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion College Park
Clarion Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing