We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This really is the FUNdome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“This really is the FUNdome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

This hotel was absolutely accommodating and amazing customer service!! When you walk in, you may have some hesitations, but give it a chance. With a shuttle to the metro and only 3 stops from the city. The bar and restaurant really provided a great way to enjoy a night in when we couldn't go out. We had a large conference stay there and it was perfect. If you're looking for 5-star design and image, you might want to go somewhere else; if you want a great value, stay and experience, stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melsiph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    61
    48
    68
See reviews for
105
41
23
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1,109 reviews
297 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 488 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Reasonable choice for travelling to DC, the shuttle has limited hours so I ended up using my own car and drove to metro which is close by. Breakfast was like a Best western style, reasonable. Room was tired, bedding needs to be freshened, a bit musty. When I arrived a used condom was outside my door, I had to point out to a staff member who had been working there, yuck. All said I chose this because of shuttle which was not convenient, so i would probably go elsewhere given the other problems.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntarioCanuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ford City
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Our room was clean and adequate for our needs. All the staff that we encountered were friendly with the exception of one desk clerk who was a little snooty at times. The breakfast was good - if anyone left hungry, it was their own fault. Although on the last day of our trip, the toaster was broken. The bread well basket on either side would not stay down. If you wanted toast or a toasted bagel, the breakfast worker, held the handle down for you. It was broken the day before, and I don't understand why the hotel didn't just go out an buy a new toaster. I hope by now, they did. We used the hotel's metro shuttle on Sunday but opted to drive to the station on the other two days. The metro is cheaper when not rush hour (9:30 am - 3 pm then after 7:00pm) on weekdays. The shuttle was done at 7:30 and even if we got on the metro in DC at 7:01, we were not back to the College Park station by 7:30. If we would have depended on the shuttle to get us back to the hotel, we would have been stranded. And the "snooty" desk clerk told us that the only way we would be picked up by the shuttle after 7:30 was if it was already at the station. The two hotels that share the shuttle should make pick-up until 8:00 (or 7:45 at the latest) to make it more customer friendly. All in all, we were completely satisfied with the hotel, and would consider staying here again if we ever travel to DC again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenda10-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Nasty. The entire place had a run-down, poorly maintained feel. It appeared a partial renovation was done a few yrs ago, but due to the poor maintenance, it was very unpleasant. Rms are small old style motel rms with an exterior corridor. Fitness rm was a joke. Indoor pool is only open very limited hrs (5hrs/day) during the week. FREE shuttle service is very limited as well with only a few hrs. in the am and pm and the drivers expect a tip. Outside those hrs. you WILL get stranded at the Metro and have to call a cab($6/each way). Not many dining choices within walking distance. The hotel restaurant was very much understaffed. The hostess was the bartender, waitress, cashier and probably the cook.. She was running around trying to service everyone. She said they did not have beer on tap in the bar because the tap had been broken for months. If you eat there, only go for the basics. Continental breakfast was the saddest I've ever seen (cold cereal, toast, bagels, juice, yogurt, packaged donuts, and waffles only). The carpet in the rooms was visibly soiled and worn. Looked like it was regularly not vacuumed well. Not a place to let children play on the floor. The beds were comfortable but I didn't sleep well wondering if they were as clean or lack thereof as the rest of the place. It seemed that the few employees had mutiple jobs. Employees were nice but didn't go out of the way to assist your needs. Small kids were running in the halls very late pm and early am. No extra sleep here. The pool area smelled like a combination of old cooking grease and chlorine. There was an overpriced operable washer and dryer. Our family is military and have traveled world-wide to remote locations in various countires and stayed at everything from 5 star hotels(Mandarin Oriental, DC) to $29 rms in Mexico. This was among the worst!

Room Tip: Our rm was away from pool and still very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collegeparkinn, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Dear Sir:
We appreciate your opinion that you have given. I thank you for the compliments that you have, but also feel the need to address your review. The fitness room has 2 treadmills, a 3 station gym , a stair climber and an exercise bike. Also the indoor pool is open 4PM to 10PM during Monday to Friday and 9AM to 10PM on Saturday and Sunday in the non summer hours. In summer it is open all day till 10PM, with a 2 hours break in between. The county requires us to have a life guard when the pool is open, since most travelers are already gone out during the day we have selected hours that suit most people. We advertise those hours everywhere and do not misguide people with that. I would suggest that next time you check the pool hours if you need to use the pool during the day time in any hotel. Also the shuttle runs in 2 four hour shifts morning and evening and Is complimentary to use. We have continued to maintain a complimentary status even in this high gas prices. Also the shuttle hours are advertised on our website. There is parking at the metro station and you definitely can park your car there instead of taking the taxi. Also buses run right in front of the hotel and a ride is only 1.50 per person from the metro. There are also close to 20 restaurants within walking distance. The beer taps have been working since a new owner has taken over in the past 2 months. We will be sure to pass on your comments to them and address the training issue you have mentioned. We will also be coming out with a new Asian Fusion restaurant in the coming month with new expanded cuisine. Continental breakfast is as we say it ”Continental” and supposed to have cold items only. It is not a hot breakfast. We do also have Fruits, Hard boiled eggs and muffins in addition to the items you mentioned. I have also checked your room and the carpet does not appear soiled or worn to me. It is about 2 years old. We also have a comprehensive cleaning program and a deep cleaning schedule. Also the carpets are regularly shampooed. Washer dryer is priced at $1.00 each which I believe is not overpriced as, if you would go to a Laundromat it will cost upward of $3.00 to use. We do have a full hotel due to the spring season and employees do their best to service the needs of the customer. I thank you for the compliment. I appreciate you staying the 4 nights with us in our hotel and thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these College Park hotels

Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

In late January of 2011, I was in town for a political convention that lasted for a political convention. I was recommended this hotel by a friend and I am glad I stayed here. The hotel staff was friendly, the room was comfortable and clean and there were many local attractions and palces to eat that were within walking distance. The other reviews I heard from fellow attendees who stayed at this hotel were equally affiirming. I will definitely stay here again if I have to be in the area for more than one night.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_Myers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Resteraunt was closed during entire stay and the whole place had a run down feel to it.
Staff generally good. Cheap, so ok for the money but I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roccap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
collegeparkinn, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2011
Dear Sir : Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. The restaurant was open for Breakfast and dinner during the month of February. We have also renovated the restaurant completely in March and renamed it to Varsity Lounge and Asian Fusion restaurant. We are also planning to start opening it for Lunch also starting April 1st. If you are in the area we would like for you to stay with us again and sample our newest offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

I am a regular customer at this hotel because of its location close to the University of Maryland. The motel is clean and a very good value. What sets it apart is the excellent service and great attitude of its staff.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balldog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
1.4 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Property: Clarion Inn
Address: 8601 Baltimore Avenue, College Park, MD 20740-2130 (Formerly Best College Park Inn & Fundome)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Fundome, an affordable, contemporary Maryland hotel conveniently located a few miles from Washington, DC. Enjoy well-appointed guest rooms, first-rate service and ample amenities, including an on-site restaurant, meeting rooms and the Fundome, an indoor activity area with heated pool, whirlpool, putting green and shuffleboard. Our convenient location makes it a breeze to reach the spectacular attractions that comprise the nation’s capital as well as the University of Maryland, Baltimore and Chesapeake Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion College Park
Clarion Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing