We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicest place near the metro”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nicest place near the metro”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A bit pricy, but it had two nice pools & good campsites. The bus to the metro was a key benefit. The people running the place were mostly friendly, but not over customer-centric. That said, I would stay here again and recommend it highly for people who want to both camp and tour D.C.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    106
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
203
103
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a convenience park, not a resort. It’s the go-to park for people wanting to visit the Washington D.C. area. It’s a little pricey. It’s located right next to one of the busiest Interstates on the East Coast. The sites aren’t perfectly landscaped with level concrete pads, and most are wooded back-ins. It’s worth it to be in a park where the city bus takes you to the Metro into D.C., or the tour bus picks you up at the office. If you’re “passing through” and don’t plan to visit D.C., or have some other reason to be in the College Park area, this may not be the park for you. I made reservations online, and they had no record of it, including my $50 deposit, so check-in was slower than expected. Our pull-thru site was long enough but difficult to get level, and oddly configured with our neighbors pointing in the opposite direction (sharing a “patio”). We did get one of the few satellite-friendly sites, so didn’t need the included cable. The park’s Wi-Fi was well distributed but relatively slow and inconsistently able to maintain a connection. VZW was strong. Given the prices, there were a surprising number of perma-rigs. Staff was generally friendly and helpful, once the reservation confusion was addressed (don’t make me feel like it’s my fault you can’t find my reservation and deposit).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RVTravelerNTechie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

This park is a great and economical alternative to staying closer to the capital. My family rented a trailer and it was nice and clean( and air conditioned!). We ate once at the small restaurant, which was nothing special but nice. The College Park metro stop is a short car ride away for a 25-30 minute ride to the Mall. Be aware that the highway is quite close to the campsite, so it's not the quietest spot.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ksutton79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girard, Ohio
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

This park was GREAT! We stayed here in July of 2012, we rented a trailer in the park. The Trailer was beautiful. It was a two bed room, with a pull out couch. The completely furnished, linens, dishes, grill. There is a bus stop right in the park, although we didn't use it, it was very convenient. There is also a grocery store right down the street, which saved us a TON of money instead of eating out the whole time we were there. It was located next to the expressway, however we never heard the traffic. There are two pools for the kids to play in, lots of play ground equipment for them to play on. There was ALWAYS something planned at the park for the kids/family to do. There is a laundry room on site, a small cafe, game room, tv room, a small library, C-Store, putt putt and i know i'm forgetting some other things. we had more fun just staying at the campground then going into DC :). I would highly recommend this campground and if we go back to DC we will more then likely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vixie3679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

The park is wonderful! Close to DC, ample space, great amenities, hiking trail, and very reasonably priced. The only thing lacking is a little friendlier staff. The younger staff was wonderful, but some of the old times could be a bit nicer to you as you ask questions about the DC area. Other than that small nuisance, the park was awesome. The price is right, you can't beat the location, and the park is spotlessly clean! A five star rating would come with a friendlier staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jawhiskeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Cherry Hill Park with some friends for vacation. The location is convenient for traveling to the surrounding area. There is a metro bus stop on-site. You can get a metro pass right there (works for the bus as well as the subway). We took the bus to the metro subway station, and from there to the Mall in DC, and to the National Zoo with a transfer. It was also easy to drive to I-495 and down to Six Flags America.

We stayed in the tent camping area, which was a fairly small portion of the entire campground. The tent area was well shaded, with a cold-water tap and wash basin, and a bath house nearby. The bath house toilets and showers were always clean, and the bath house was not overly lit outside but amply lit inside. Never had a problem with sufficient hot water. Each camp site had a dimly lit light stand at the entrance (convenient for navigating your way at night) with a power outlet. We comfortably fit 3 tents in our site. The highway noise can be disturbing at night, but the helicopters and tree frogs were worse for me. Ear plugs come in very handy. There were also a few larger group tent areas scattered around the park grounds. There is construction near the entrance to the park grounds, but that isn't noticeable from the tent area. There is wireless internet throughout the campground, and it was sufficient for our needs.

The camp store (opens 7:00) was fairly well stocked, and there is a supermarket up the road (also a Home Depot and Best Buy). The cafe (opens 8:00) near the pools and theater is convenient for coffee and light breakfast (probably lunch, too). The outdoor theater was showing movies nightly while we were there.

Overall, a very convenient, economical option for staying in the DC area with most of our desired amenities.

Room Tip: Ear plugs come in handy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited in an RV. This site really has thought of everything. Tidy, clean, helpful staff. Good pool area. Public Transport to subway into Washington comes right on site. $1.80 each, each way to subway station. Buses regular. Laundry facilities good, even have change machines for quarters. Site was busy but expected during summer. Wi-fi free but didn't really work. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaneyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
1.6 mi away
Sheraton College Park North Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing