We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A smile, a smile, my kingdom for a smile...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
2.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
146 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A smile, a smile, my kingdom for a smile...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

The park is wonderful! Close to DC, ample space, great amenities, hiking trail, and very reasonably priced. The only thing lacking is a little friendlier staff. The younger staff was wonderful, but some of the old times could be a bit nicer to you as you ask questions about the DC area. Other than that small nuisance, the park was awesome. The price is right, you can't beat the location, and the park is spotlessly clean! A five star rating would come with a friendlier staff.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jawhiskeyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    90
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
160
72
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed at Cherry Hill Park with some friends for vacation. The location is convenient for traveling to the surrounding area. There is a metro bus stop on-site. You can get a metro pass right there (works for the bus as well as the subway). We took the bus to the metro subway station, and from there to the Mall in DC, and to the National Zoo with a transfer. It was also easy to drive to I-495 and down to Six Flags America.

We stayed in the tent camping area, which was a fairly small portion of the entire campground. The tent area was well shaded, with a cold-water tap and wash basin, and a bath house nearby. The bath house toilets and showers were always clean, and the bath house was not overly lit outside but amply lit inside. Never had a problem with sufficient hot water. Each camp site had a dimly lit light stand at the entrance (convenient for navigating your way at night) with a power outlet. We comfortably fit 3 tents in our site. The highway noise can be disturbing at night, but the helicopters and tree frogs were worse for me. Ear plugs come in very handy. There were also a few larger group tent areas scattered around the park grounds. There is construction near the entrance to the park grounds, but that isn't noticeable from the tent area. There is wireless internet throughout the campground, and it was sufficient for our needs.

The camp store (opens 7:00) was fairly well stocked, and there is a supermarket up the road (also a Home Depot and Best Buy). The cafe (opens 8:00) near the pools and theater is convenient for coffee and light breakfast (probably lunch, too). The outdoor theater was showing movies nightly while we were there.

Overall, a very convenient, economical option for staying in the DC area with most of our desired amenities.

Room Tip: Ear plugs come in handy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank user621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited in an RV. This site really has thought of everything. Tidy, clean, helpful staff. Good pool area. Public Transport to subway into Washington comes right on site. $1.80 each, each way to subway station. Buses regular. Laundry facilities good, even have change machines for quarters. Site was busy but expected during summer. Wi-fi free but didn't really work. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaneyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a trailer at Cherry Hill Campground in College Park, MD during our visit to Washington DC in August. Cherry Hill had many good reviews and it did not disappoint. The campground was clean and well maintained, including playground equipment, pools, and public buildings. Our trailer had a few minor cosmetic blemishes, but was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. During the evening, they had wagon rides around the property and nightly movies. The only negative was the construction noise near our trailer, but it encouraged us to get moving in the morning. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to the Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I took our three grandchildren and their parents on a family vacation to Washington, D.C. in late July 2013. We rented the Abigail Adams lodge for a week. It was an excellent venue for all of us--six bedrooms and four baths. The place was clean and had everything we needed for a minimal amount of housekeeping, sleeping and fixing breakfasts. We were able to board a Metro bus each morning and withing ten to twenty minutes were were at the College Park Metro Station. With the WiFI everyone was able to connect to the web and everyone's electronic devices.

The park has two pools and a nearby snack bar with very good food. There is a small playground and a rustic miniature golf course.

On our last night we were able to have a bonfire behind our lodge with the kids.

The staff was very helpful with things such as Metro and tour bus tickets. Their is amble grocery shopping and restaurants nearby.

We had a great time in DC. I suggest that you purchase the Metro tickets ahead of time online. We also thought the "hop on and hop off" DC bus tour to be worth the money for one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truetravelcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Closest RV park to Washington DC. Staff friendly, but I was not happy to hear that our reservation for a pull-through was not honored. Bathrooms were clean but no air moving through them (ceiling fans were on low) so during the day they were very hot and muggy. Pool was very nice but the two boys on lifeguard duty were more interested in their phones then the kids in the water. Family in the site near ours left their fire going when they went to bed. The bus takes you to the metro, all the drivers were very friendly. There is also a bus stop at Shopper's, the grocery store, about a mile up the road. All in all, I would definitely recommend this park. Mini golf, mining (overpriced), video games, large tv room, nice laundry room. The park is kept up nicely, but they should let their visitors know there will be construction starting at 7am each morning; we are early birds but others were not. Store on site is well stocked.

Room Tip: stay at the far end of the park away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelljbmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location if you are in a RV. However tent camping is a different story. We took a road trip this summer and traveled 6660 miles. We stayed in several campgrounds throughout the US. This one had too many spiders. I expect to encounter bugs and spiders while camping but they are out of control here . Two people in our party were bitten by ticks. This campground needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloverlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing