We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Campground with everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Campground with everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We visited in an RV. This site really has thought of everything. Tidy, clean, helpful staff. Good pool area. Public Transport to subway into Washington comes right on site. $1.80 each, each way to subway station. Buses regular. Laundry facilities good, even have change machines for quarters. Site was busy but expected during summer. Wi-fi free but didn't really work. Would stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaneyP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    103
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
190
96
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We rented a trailer at Cherry Hill Campground in College Park, MD during our visit to Washington DC in August. Cherry Hill had many good reviews and it did not disappoint. The campground was clean and well maintained, including playground equipment, pools, and public buildings. Our trailer had a few minor cosmetic blemishes, but was clean and had a fully equipped kitchen and bathroom. During the evening, they had wagon rides around the property and nightly movies. The only negative was the construction noise near our trailer, but it encouraged us to get moving in the morning. We will definitely stay there again when we come back to the Washington area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kuffam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My wife and I took our three grandchildren and their parents on a family vacation to Washington, D.C. in late July 2013. We rented the Abigail Adams lodge for a week. It was an excellent venue for all of us--six bedrooms and four baths. The place was clean and had everything we needed for a minimal amount of housekeeping, sleeping and fixing breakfasts. We were able to board a Metro bus each morning and withing ten to twenty minutes were were at the College Park Metro Station. With the WiFI everyone was able to connect to the web and everyone's electronic devices.

The park has two pools and a nearby snack bar with very good food. There is a small playground and a rustic miniature golf course.

On our last night we were able to have a bonfire behind our lodge with the kids.

The staff was very helpful with things such as Metro and tour bus tickets. Their is amble grocery shopping and restaurants nearby.

We had a great time in DC. I suggest that you purchase the Metro tickets ahead of time online. We also thought the "hop on and hop off" DC bus tour to be worth the money for one day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truetravelcompanions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schertz
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Closest RV park to Washington DC. Staff friendly, but I was not happy to hear that our reservation for a pull-through was not honored. Bathrooms were clean but no air moving through them (ceiling fans were on low) so during the day they were very hot and muggy. Pool was very nice but the two boys on lifeguard duty were more interested in their phones then the kids in the water. Family in the site near ours left their fire going when they went to bed. The bus takes you to the metro, all the drivers were very friendly. There is also a bus stop at Shopper's, the grocery store, about a mile up the road. All in all, I would definitely recommend this park. Mini golf, mining (overpriced), video games, large tv room, nice laundry room. The park is kept up nicely, but they should let their visitors know there will be construction starting at 7am each morning; we are early birds but others were not. Store on site is well stocked.

Room Tip: stay at the far end of the park away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelljbmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great location if you are in a RV. However tent camping is a different story. We took a road trip this summer and traveled 6660 miles. We stayed in several campgrounds throughout the US. This one had too many spiders. I expect to encounter bugs and spiders while camping but they are out of control here . Two people in our party were bitten by ticks. This campground needs some TLC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloverlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

We spent 2 full weeks here in June 2011. Like other reviewers said, I do remember hearing the highway noise. Fortunately, we have a travel trailer and run the air conditioning all the time, so it wasn't really too much of an issue for us.

I felt AT HOME while here. The campground was really big, and really had pretty much everything you can think of...and more. The pool area was great, the laundry facilities were great, they had computers/internet access, a nice store, movies, television viewing area, putt putt golf, etc., etc., etc.

The campground didn't have a problem with us bringing 3 dogs along. There was lots of room to walk them, and they also had 2 fenced dog runs.

This campground was convenient to the DC area too. Tour buses will even pick you up right at the campground.

We had a great time, and I would definitely recommend Cherry Hill RV to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camperzzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Travelled here in May 2013 as part of group camping; was relatively short drive outside of DC, but as a result the campground was loud as it wasn't far from the main highway.

That said, the little shop had great facilities and array of things to purchase.

Showers and toilets were always clean - no quarters required. Bit of a walk over to the toilet block which is largely unlit.

Also has a pool, arcade games in the cafe, free wi-fi (average quality) if you're into your mod cons.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Days Inn College Park
Days Inn College Park
#9 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
2.8 mi away
College Park Marriott Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, PitchUp and Odigeo so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing