We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I would just call it your average or a little bit above campground.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“I would just call it your average or a little bit above campground.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had booked a premium site for our stay in the DC area thinking it would be like other premium sites. We informed them of the size of our rigg and the size of our tow vehicle. We ended up pushing the RV deeper than we had to into the back of the site and our tow vehicle was still in the
road. We parked our vehicle to the grassy side of the lot and the following day the campground put a picnic table next to our vehicle (?). Our RV took up ALL of the site and both our fire ring and our grill had the last RV'rs wood and ashes in it.
Bath houses were par, but floors quite slippery. There were fans to attempt to dry the floors but they failed miserably. Good strong showers tho.
Pool it self was nice........... BUT............ If you had children with you.....CAVEAT....... the lifeguards on duty would not put there Iphones down and occasionally stop texting to look in the pool to observe people in the water.
The hot tub that they offered was a token gesture and should have been swapped out for one to fit in the room that it was in. When filled to capacity the water over flowed to who knows where.
Campers..... let me tell you..... be ready to fork out some $$$$$ for the nations transit system.
The museums and such are all free.... it's getting to them that will hit your pockets. The campground offers the "CARD".... it costs $10.... but only comes with $5 on it... and should you stay there long enough you can get a $3 rebate (put back on the card) after a certain amount of time. This transit system will never ....ever.... go broke. Try not to go during "rush" hour times and you might not pay so much.... but it's kinda hard if you have set sights you want to see. Have good walking shoes on.... you'll need them.

The staff at this campground were friendly and the cafe to by food was good also.
Our only regret would be the lack of understanding on the staffs part to put us in a site that will "FIT" our rigg and vehicle...... especially when you convey all this info to them while making the
reservation. We should have gone to the site next to us which a 43 foot motorhome was on but there was no planning for that I guess.

The campground was doing some construction and it looks like it will be bigger and better because of it.

Overall... once again....it was OK.... has the options in place to see the nations capital and other sites, but to us....that's about it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank New_England_Bogdans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    90
    17
    5
    3
See reviews for
160
72
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

After staying at another camp ground in Gettysburg for a week it was a relief to come to a well-run campground. they are all about their camper here. two very nice pools. playground for the kids. they put on a movie every night. what a great atmosphere I will return

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank singledad37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Cherry hill is a great place to stay for visiting DC. The bus picks you up at the campground and the metro takes you downtown. It couldn't be easier. The campground is well kept. The bathhouse was clean. The pools are wonderful. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend cherry hill for campers or renters.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Wisco5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The location close to Washington DC is great with public transportation (bus) coming right to the campground. I had to go into DC 5 days of our stay for a conference so the bus connection to the subway station was great! You can ( and should) buy the transportation pass at the camp office. Just more convenient and then if you get the Smartcard you can load money to the card on the bus. There are also other tour buses that I believe depart from the campground. Our dogs appreciate the dog park. My family used the laundry, pool, and other facilities. Bath house was clean and had plenty of room in the shower areas. Our site could have used more shade in the sun most of the day, but other sites were more shaded. Level gravel site.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank campsalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This campground is large and clean. There are two pools, playground, and putt putt golf. There is a store near by fir groceries. They have a bus station in the campground. The laundry room could use more ventilation. It was hot and muggy in there during the summer. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ALDixieCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

You actually kind a feel like your at a Disney resort. There's transportation, outdoor movies, a small but cool water park and restaurants. Very close to DC, I highly recommend it. They even let us stay after check out so we could tour dc... How cool is that? Super cool!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Nice location, drive to the metro takes about 10 minutes or you can bus there if you wish. Quiet, nice clean showers, close to grocery and restaurants. Try the Sierra Grill nearby for a great meal. Buy your train pass at the camp office. Very helpful staff, good camp store.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 11 in College Park
3.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing