We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cherry Hill Park Campground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cherry Hill Park Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and found the campground and all facilities to be extremely clean. We had some plumbing/pipe issues on our motor home and the fully stocked supplies in the camp store were a very welcome surprise. The bus stop right in the camp is an excellent feature and we took advantage of going in to the city daily (bus to the Metro). The campground personnel were friendly and helpful, and the instructions provided for using public transportation are detailed and will work for even the most inexperienced novice! The basketball court and playground equipment was very nice (just a bit cold the week we were there!) and I'm sure the pools and other activities in the summer are great. We would most certainly return to Cherry Hill when we come back to DC!

Room Tip: There is some road noise from the highway, ask office staff for site recommendation if this might bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanFam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    103
    21
    5
    3
See reviews for
193
98
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

We traveled as a family and had asked for a spot close to the bathrooms. We were given a spot right across from it. The site was level, clean, quiet and spacious. We loved that the shower houses were cleaned daily, and the laundry room had plenty of machines available. It was nice to have the sauna and hot tub to come back to after a day of sight-seeing. The kids loved the arcade. Even this early in the spring, they were daily sprucing up the campground by cleaning, painting, etc. It is kept up very well!
The location of the park is so convenient in that it is right on the bus line. That is the way to go!! So easy! Although the park is so close, it was never loud at the campground, nor did it feel unsafe.
The staff were so helpful and patiently answered all of our questions as this was our first time in DC.
If we ever get back to DC in our RV, we will most definitely stay at this campground. Highly, highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tvh_4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent four days in this park and it was the best place to explore Washington DC. The staff were extremely helpful even to the point when we missed the bus ( which incidentally comes right into the campground) one of the staff members took us in her car to meet the bus. We highly recommend this campground. Reviews that we read indicated that WiFI wasn't very good. They must have upgraded it because ours was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philip15-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week and all the rave reviews turned out to be accurate. The best part was that we could walk out of our RV and walk right to the bus. The bus takes about 25-30 minutes to get to the metro station and from there you can go anywhere in the DC area within 20 or 30 minutes. The bus and metro both take the smartrip card that you can buy at the campground (and load at any metro station). Traveling back and forth was never dull and was very easy. People in DC are very friendly and very helpful. The facilities at the campground are spotless. If you're traveling to DC in an RV, I can't imagine an easier way to see the sights!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

You will be amazed at the condition and variety of options to entertain yourself at this campground. We were here in January but can imagine during the summer it's a paradise for kids and those young at heart. The Metro bus picks you up at the campground to take you to the subway. Showers were spacious and clean. Camp store has tons of RV equipment to purchase if needed. The sites are very well done with complete gravel coverage and direct of patio area at most sites . Some sites even have iron patio sets.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank hla7er45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had read some reviews that made us wary of staying here, but it seemed like a good location for our visit to DC.

We arrived after midnight and had to wake up the person on duty in the guard house. We had problems as our RV wouldn't fit in the space they'd reserved for us, so for that night we picked another premium site. In the morning we were informed we would have to move because that spot was reserved already. I understand the staff wanting to only make 1 customer upset instead of 2, but don't expect any southern hospitality. I guess that's left when you leave VA? If you have a larger RV, make sure the staff member reserving your spot is aware of whether your unit will fit. Our 39 foot did not fit in spot 332 for example.

It worked out fine other than the inconvenience of moving. Another staff member was helpful in telling us how to use the bus, metro, etc. It's easy to get your metro card there and load it with more at the metro station. Also-if coming back after the bus stops running, cab drivers know where the park is and it was around $14 for 2.

Our site was wider because it was handicap accessible. Otherwise I'd recommend the wider premium sites. They also include a wrought iron table and chair set and paved patio. We weren't there much and it was cool and rainy so we didn't use that. The fire ring for our site was behind the site and under trees. Doesn't seem very practical.

Bathrooms were clean, plenty of showers and toilets. Trash cans on every corner it seemed like. They also provided poop bags to help pick up after your dog. We didn't get a chance to use the dog run, so can't comment on that.

Overall, we'd probably stay again if coming to DC due to the location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank KWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

A long trip to the city by bus and train but the best option from what we could find. The camp ground itself is excellent. Many amenities (driving distance) nearby. The site itself has excellent facilities. Everything was very clean and tidy. The playground was excellent for kids. The showers/bathrooms were very clean every time we used them. The additional facilities (laundry, games room, tv room, fitness facilities) were excellent, air conditioned and spacious. We didn't eat at the restaurant as it looked like it was all fast food but many people did eat there. There were two pools - one for adults only and one that was child-oriented - with a lifeguard on duty.

Overall - excellent facilities and ok location.

The only poor part of our experience was the location they chose to put us in. There were MANY free spaces but they put us in a spot at the entrance, with the street lights shining in our windows all night and right beside the garbage. If you get put in a site at the end of a row (near garbage and lights) i would recommend moving. We had the least amount of privacy of any site, visitors constantly dumping their garbage and had to block all our windows from the annoying orange light.

If you select your site carefully and don't mind a long bus and train ride into the city - this is a good way to see Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annemaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near College Park
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn - College Park
Hampton Inn - College Park
#2 of 11 in College Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington College Park
2.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS College Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Silver Spring North
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Laurel
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cherry Hill Park Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cherry Hill Park Campground

Property: Cherry Hill Park Campground
Address: 9800 Cherry Hill Rd, College Park, MD 20740-1210
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > College Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in College Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cherry Hill Park Campground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest RV park and campground to Washington, D.C., Cherry Hill Park is the perfect place to stay while camping and exploring our nation's capital. In addition to sites for RV and tent campers, Cherry Hill Park offers lodging in yurts, group cottages, and premium log cabins. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cherry Hill Park Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cherry Hill Park Campground Hotel College Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing