We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“I love Bobby... but not his burger palace...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bobby's Burger Palace

Bobby's Burger Palace
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bobby's Burger Palace (BBP) presents signature burgers inspired by Chef Bobby Flay's extensive travels throughout America and love of the grill in a convenient casual setting.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“I love Bobby... but not his burger palace...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I love Bobby Flay and was so looking forward to trying his Burger Palace. To begin with, the location of this restaurant is very convenient if you are a student of the Univ. of Maryland in College Park as it is right in the heart of the campus area; however, if you are not a student and trying to get to the restaurant, it will be challenging. If there is any chance of a Univ. of MD sporting event going on at the college, you may have the worse traffic of your life just getting down the road to the restaurant...and parking is even a more challening task.
Be that as it may, I was determined to try Bobby's restaurant and I ventured out to the restaurant. It was very crowded with students, so it the atmosphere was, again, akin to a college cafeteria.
After waiting a long while, I finally I was served my burger with fried onion rings... was it a good burger? Yes, it was juicy and tasty... was it the best burger I ever had?...No! it was very, very far from the best burger... in fact, there are a half dozen other places much nearer to my home and without all of the traffic hassle that make far better burgers with better toppings. So, if you happen to be walking near this place, it might be worth it to stop in...otherwise, I wouldn't make any special effort to get there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drlynnrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    28
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Ridulous”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I wouldn't have minded going back for a burger but the last three times we've tried the parking lot (very tiny) has been full. Not very welcoming.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngloAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Burger places in College Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Food, quality, customer service and location, this place is a good fit for College students, families or a solo traveler. Recommend it if you're in a mood to have some burgers.
Friednly staff and service. Parking can be a problem but the Manager advised us they are working on getting a lot soon.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fazia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Burgers were good, but there weren't enough choices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I love upscale burger places and was craving something grilled for Labor Day, but this fell short of many other similar restaurants that I've had. The food was good, but there weren't enough choices and a bit too expensive for what it is. The milkshakes are tiny for $5 and and burgers only alright.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank labedwardes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, MD
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“No longer new, no longer on their best behaviour”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The burger with salad was still very good, but the last time I was there, there were piles and piles of dirty dishes all over the place making finding a good clean place to sit impossible. I mentioned this to a manager who ignored me. The last times we *tried* to go there we couldn't; the center has a miserably tiny parking area, with only four handicapped parking spots (you have to pay for) which have been full every time. Drove around and around the little tiny narrow space and gave up in frustration.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngloAm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bobby's Burger Palace also viewed

 

Been to Bobby's Burger Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing