We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“First timer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of College Park Diner

College Park Diner
Ranked #3 of 106 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: North of Univ of Maryland
Beltsville
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“First timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Visited this place for the first time for late breakfast. The service was quick, the waitresses were friendly and food was good. I had the Belgium waffle with scrambled eggs and turkey sausage. It's way better than any of those chain restaurants (ie, Denny's). I would definitely go back again. Be prepared to wait for a seat. The place isn't that big.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DreaLovesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Busy for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

A small diner, but very busy with quick service. The food was good and the staff was very friendly. We were there for breakfast on a Sunday morning. The french toast was excellent!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“chef ramsay could learn a few tips here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

stopped in for a saturday brunch, a had a few doughts, the place looks like a old howard johnson's from the outside, but we were starving.

as we were going to our seats we noticed two cildren giggling with delight over their hot chocolate. as soon we sat down, our waitress promptly delivered our menus and took our drink orders. we placed our order, and shortly thereafter our food arrived. the coffee was good and strong and the food was even better.

this place has the best wait staff i have ever seen. the teamwork between the staff and the cooks is incredible. did i mention, the kitchen is in the front of the restaurant so you watch your food being prepared.

checks are up at the cashier located at the entrance, so tables turned quickly and we did not have to wait for our check. the menu is small, comfort food, all winners.

the patrons were young and old, of every shape color and hue. additionally, the place is open 24 hours.

chef ramsay, come here and learn a few tricks

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claudia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrico, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Get the omelettes they are to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

That said I should lay out some other recommendations
1. AVOID THE NON-BREAKFAST FOODS AT ALL COSTS!! it is substandard fare and not really up to par with the rest of the menu.
2. If you need to use the restroom don't be shocked to find sexually explicit graffiti in the bathroom as it was there when I first ate there and last ate there
3. Go at night that is when the food is best
4. Bring a spare tummy as you will be pretty full by the time you stop eating.

The lady at the grill really knows what shes doing and the place serves breakfast for dinner which is a win :D

This place looks unassuming and is very easy to miss so if you are considering eating here KEEP YOUR EYES PEELED as you're driving
The staff are very friendly but the decor is very cheesy.

If I am ever in the area again I will definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EastCoastBrony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

We arrived after 9 pm and it was mostly empty, but that changed fast and three more tables filled up. The staff were clearly accustomed to picking up the pace. The waitress didnt miss a beat and service overall was excellent. Between us we had steak, grilled chicken, and one of the lunch sandwiches. Everyone was pleased with their food, and we would definitely come back. The waitress also told us about the area. This is a very good option if you don't want the usual chain restaurant experience and prefer some local flavor.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Satchel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed College Park Diner also viewed

 
College Park, MD
 

Been to College Park Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing