We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Worth a try!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Plato's Diner

Plato's Diner
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in College Park
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
HYATTSVILLE
Level Contributor
198 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Worth a try!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a very understated, non-glitzy diner. The food is not superb but is very satisfying and filling. We've enjoyed it for breakfast and found it ok for dinner but not so good that we've rushed to go back. The atmosphere is relaxed and would be nice for a family of for a low-key lunch with a friend

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DCLizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    22
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Typical diner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived for a late dinner (after 10pm). Service was a little slow but the food was good. Being a college town, the prices were a little on the high side. I would return again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank cbarnes517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Extensive menu, great greek food, delicious desserts, and kid friendly. I have been here a few times and have never had anything I didn't like. Prepare to leave with left overs and desserts to go because there is so much food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mel588
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Below Average Food, Silly PricesFraudulent website”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Not worth the visit. Bad dinner food at high prices. Staff is rude. This isn't authentic anything, Greek or otherwise. Too many quality choices nearby to put up with this. Yuck!

    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Plato's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Service was just ok, but the food was sketchy and on when the hottest day of the year hit us in Maryland, we went there for dinner because it was too hot to cook....they were out of almost everything including bottled water....the menu that day and on many others were limited and it was not the best experience at a diner...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plato's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Plato's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing