We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Plato's”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Plato's Diner - CLOSED

Plato's Diner
Cuisines: American, Diner, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Plato's”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Service was just ok, but the food was sketchy and on when the hottest day of the year hit us in Maryland, we went there for dinner because it was too hot to cook....they were out of almost everything including bottled water....the menu that day and on many others were limited and it was not the best experience at a diner...

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank dclady27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    28
    21
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Service is outstanding, food great, and deserts to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

When we feel like going out, this is the place my wife and I like most. I almost always start with a chocolate malt. (You can't find them many places any more!) Then the cuisine offers a variety--that for which I haver room after the malt.

It's homey, friendly, and good.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank TimothyScanlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coshocton, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food and price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

We ate there 2 times while in the area recently. (We knew it was good since we had been there a few years ago). The waiters/waitresses are friendly and helpful. The food is excellent - portions are HUGE!!!! (You could easily share one of the dinner specials!) Milkshakes are fresh and delicious... and HUGE! They fill your shake glass, then set the rest of the metal tumbler on the table so you can refill your glass. We love this place. You definitely won't go away hungry!!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HONESDALE
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Ate there 2 nights while we stayed at the Quality Inn and Suites next door. We had read reviews on Trip Advisor and decided to try them. They had a varied menu with specials each night. The staff was very friendly and competent. Salads were fresh. The prepared food was very good and portions were quite large.
They also had a limited wine and beer menu.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank ecb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family-run CP institution”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Extensive menu. Solid diner. Weekend brunch gets packed. Get there early

Helpful?
1 Thank tjbecraf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plato's Diner also viewed

 
College Park, MD
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing