We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great everything ”

Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ
Ranked #1 of 104 Restaurants in Cockeysville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Our Family has nearly a century old tradition of serving "Serious Barbecue." Andy Sr. Learned his labor of love from his dad, 'Guy Nelson' - Chief Barbecue Man for Limestone County, Alabama. In the 50's, Andy & Betty were not only attending Memphis State, raising a family, and sighting the real Elvis, but they were also developing a BBQ style all their own, integrating the spiciness of Memphis BBQ with the Old Nelson Family tradition. Andy's not famous for his championship years with the Baltimore Colts; he's famous for his hickory smoked BBQ. Ask Andy and he'll tell you that one of the secrets is slow cooking. Our BBQ is smoked many hours over Hickory logs until it falls off the bone, then simmered in our own heirloom sauce. Regularly voted "Baltimore's Best BBQ" by the staff and readers of Baltimore Magazine and the City Paper, this is one "Q" you won't want to miss. So let us take you and your guests down the Ol' Mississippi with great "Q" and maybe a little Elvis background music (streamed from Andy's iPod, of course). We recommend adding some of our Extra Fixin's to compliment your meal. We have been providing the Maryland area residents with the Best BBQ in a family atmosphere for over 30 years. We have been delivering quality BBQ to our local community and have never lost sight of what "The Best Q" means to our family and our guests. When it comes to BBQ, we make sure that everything is always made from scratch and everything always tastes perfect. I guarantee it! -Andy Nelson
Reviewed May 3, 2019 via mobile

Super meats like pulled pork, beef, ham and turkey and ribs. Sit and enjoy. Beans, stewed tomatoes, corn bread. Sauce variety is great. From a sandwich shop at the nursery to their current location a long time happy customer. GO BALTIMORE COLTS.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank gmcmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Hi Gmcmlc,
We love hearing your comments and that you have been dining with us for so long! Thank you for letting us know about your favorites. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 456 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2019

If you are in the Baltimore area make sure to head out to Andy Nelson's for some genuine BBQ. His brisket is the best anywhere. You can eat in or carry out so even if in a motel or hotel in the Hunt Valley area it is worth the visit. If you go at lunchtime you might get to say hello to Andy himself, part of the famous Baltimore Colts football team.
Last night I got wet ribs, pulled pork, brisket, beans and cole slaw with corn bread to go along with a bottle of his famous sauce and took them my host family.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2019

Hi Peter,
Thank you for your recommendations and for sharing your great experience with us! It's terrific to hear that our brisket is the best and that our pulled pork and sides are tasty too. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Andy Nelson's has picnic tables in the parking lot for outside eating. There are two rooms also for inside eating.

There was always a line at the counter but it moved very fast. The order was also completed very quickly.

The barbecues are good and the portions were generous. I had Southern Pit barbecue. The sides were great. I had stewed tomatoes and kale.

They have a number of take out offerings for families or hosting a sports party. The bulk prices are good.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Perryville_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Hi Perryville_John,
Thank you for your kind words and feedback. We're glad that your meal was delicious and well portioned and that our staff got it to you quickly. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

We have gone here for BBQ on many occasions . These have included lunch, parties,and even a rehearsal dinner. I have spoken to Andy himself several times, he is a nice guy. We love the pulled pork, smoked brisket, pit beef, beans and cole slaw.

Date of visit: April 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank leccvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2019

Hi Leccvg,
We're glad to have been able to provide you with delicious meals for your various occasions. Thank you for all of your wonderful comments and for sharing some of your favorite dishes with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

We ordered the trifecta to go ($34.00 w/ tax) which i thought was a tad on the expensive side. They told us the cornbread just went in the oven an would be 20 min wait so we said we'd take rolls instead so we would n't have to wait. We got the food promptly but when we got back to the hotel, there were no rolls. The ribs were good.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank babs12858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy N, Owner at Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Hi Babs,
We're sorry to hear that the rolls were not included and we will speak with our staff about that. It's great to hear that our ribs were tasty for you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Andy Nelson's Southern Pit BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing