We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oregon Ridge Park

Oregon Ridge Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
194 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Awesome place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

There is a great playground that my son has loved since he was little. There is also a free nature center. Great way to spend a morning or afternoon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank mdgipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    22
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice trails and history but skip the beach unless you've got little ones”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Went with my wife for a mini vacation day. We began with a pleasant walk on the well-marked trails. I strongly recommend printing out a trail map before you go--there were none in the boxes by the trail heads. We walked most of the park in about 1.5 hours. Some steep parts and a little crossing of streams on rocks, which made it fun for us but might challenge some. Almost the entire area is wooded, so despite warm temperatures it was an enjoyable walk.

After our walk we visited the nature center, which is minimal but informative (and it has clean restrooms). We then visited the forge area which had many very interesting stations describing the history of the forge and the processes for mining iron ore and marble. This was our favorite part of the experience.

My plan was to then spend the rest of the day at the beach. Once we got in, however, I was disappointed. The sanded area is very small and there were a LOT of little children everywhere. My idea of a quiet place to set up an umbrella, have a picnic lunch, and pretend we were on the ocean shore was not to be. Paid $7 each to get in, so we decided to just stay anyway despite the craziness. Water was warmer than expected, which was nice, but the wading/swimming area was very small, with three lifeguards watching over hoards of kids, so it wasn't much fun for an adult couple.

Overall a positive experience though. Hope somebody finds this info helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank ProfChump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An unexpected learning experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This park has some great trails that are well marked. There is a neat lake/quarry you can hike around. The entire park is well isolated from traffic or other noises/views and it was pretty cold the day we went so there weren't too many people on it. In some spots we had a climb across a small stream to stay on the path. The visitor center well exceeded my expectations with some very cool taxidermy and live turtles.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mccloudnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Absorbing and a lot more than we expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Oregon Ridge was a tiny iron-mining town, and the park gave us an appreciation for that. The trails and markers were very enjoyable and helpful. We also walked down to the lake and were impressed by its size and beauty, as we viewed it with a layer of ice on its surface. A memorably couple of hour. Oh, and there were displays of agricultural things--and chickens and a lone, literally hen-pecked duck, too. Kids will enjoy this, too.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RJSSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wine in the Woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Come every summer to the Wine in the Woods Festival. In addition to all the great wines to be sampled/purchased, there is food, vendors and live entertainment. There is a playground for children and loots of placed for a pick nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bmoresunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oregon Ridge Park also viewed

 
Cockeysville Hunt Valley, MD
 

Been to Oregon Ridge Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing