We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to say you've been here”

Surratt House Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$240.00*
and up
Private Customized Tour of Washington DC with US Veteran
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Clinton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1852 as a middle-class plantation home, historic Surratt House recaptures life during the mid-19th century and features the fascinating web of the Lincoln conspiracy.
California, Maryland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice to say you've been here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Good conversation piece. Not much to see and once you've been here there's no need to come back. Nice place to take pictures.

Helpful?
1 Thank hughesjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tour too long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Certainly the price is right ($1 for under 18), but the tour was too long, and I couldn't see a polite way to escape. But I am glad others had a good experience! Probably better for super-Civil War/history buff. ("Surratt House Museum is dedicated to fostering an appreciation for the history and culture of 19th-century Maryland and Prince George’s County with special emphasis on the crucial years from 1840 to 1865.") Note: John Wilkes Booth did not sleep or die here.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank skating016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long island, ny
1 review
“The ladies who give the tours are very good, and very nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

I didn't dislike any of it, I had a 7 year old with me and even now she keeps reminding me of things she heard there from the nice lady who did our tour

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“great tour great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This tour was really nice, especially for the $3.00 adult admission. I recently visited with my family which included 3 children under eight years old. The tour guide was wonderful, informative and really great with the kids. The whole family enjoyed the tour and seemed to learn a lot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good tour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The Surratt House was not part of our original plans for our weekend trip to St. Mary's County, MD, but with the temperatures forecast for a high of 106, we had to be a little flexible and the Surratt House is air-conditioned. We have an interest in history, so the Surratt House was perfect for us. The tour was long, and the tour guide, while chatty, was interesting. She seemed to lose her focus from time to time, but was still able to give an interesting historical tour. Having seen the Conspirator movie, we were excited to see the actual site. This is a good addition to break up a drive for someone interested in history.

Note that their website has a printable coupon what will discount admission.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank historybluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surratt House Museum also viewed

Been to Surratt House Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing