We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”

The White Horse Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The White Horse Restaurant is located in the hamlet of Hendrerwydd near Ruthin within the Vale of Clwyd, North Wales Surrounded by stunning scenery and overlooking the Clwydian hills, it's a place to leave the busy world behind and come and enjoy good food and a wide selection of beverages. With two roaring fires to cosy up too during the colder winter months and alfresco dinning on the decked area to enjoy the stunning scenery by candle light during the warmer summer months. Our 2014 menu offers a thoughtful take on British dining using a wide selection of seasonal and Welsh ingredients. We always keep two well looked after real ales, always one from microbreweries as close as possible to the White Horse.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

I visited the White Horse on Sunday evening with family members. The whole evening was excellent! The service from Lucy and Rory was superb as always and the food was delicious!! I had the roast beef and Yorkshire pud which was cooked perfectly with a lovely selection of vegetables. We all had a lovely evening and I would recommend the White Horse to everyone!!

Helpful?
2 Thank Buddug_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, cosy pub, great food and superb service!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

After a long walk we received a truly warm welcome, and had a delicious fish and chips lunch. The service was brilliant in this lovely, cosy pub with fires blazing. We will definitely be back. What a stroke of luck to find this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalind B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational. Taste bud explosion. Super host/hostess, attentive with discretion.”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

What a fantastic evening, with friends and family but enhanced by super host/hostess. Comfortable surroundings, and fantastic food, great value and will continue to frequent. Often.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect post work treat!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We've had a lovely evening hosted by the wonderful Rory & Lucy! We particularly enjoyed the soul music, the 1085 & the liquorice!!

Helpful?
Thank EmmaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An evening of wine tasing and fine dinning”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

A few weeks back I was fortunate enough to accompany some friends to The White Horse Hendrerywdd for what was billed to be an evening of wine tasting, fitted around a 5 course meal, and what a truly pleasant evening it was.
Having been a regular visitor to the White since its deservedly successful re launch 18 months ago, it was fair to say I was expecting a lovely evening with top notch food. However, what I was not expecting was that the already excellent standard of food could go up another level, but to my pleasant surprise it somehow did that.
On arrival we were greeted warmly by Lucy and Rory with prosecco and canopies before sitting down and getting the evening underway. At this point we were introduced to Joe the wine expert for the evening. Joe was a really friendly and fun person who really new his stuff about wine, he explained to us that throughout the course of the evening, we would be served 2 glasses of wine with each course of food, one would be a "new world wine" and the other would be a traditional French wine. All we had to do as wine tasters was drink both glasses with the accompanying course of food and take part in a show of hands to determine which wine we preferred and which wine we thought was which.This turned out to be great fun and the wine was of real quality.
The food started off with delicious canopies on arrival that really got your appetite going. This was followed by a course of fish, a course of game, a course of meat and finally a plate full of mini deserts. As stated previously I didn't think it possible for this restaurant to improve on its already exceptional food standards but somehow the chef (and owner) Jason managed to do just this. I have a eaten at numerous Michelin star restaurants over the years and it would be no exaggeration to say, that the food at The white on this particular evening was nothing less than on par with these restaurants, if not slightly better. The service was also fantastic (as usual) with the ever helpful and friendly Lucy and Rory leading from the front, making sure that everything ran smoothly and that everyone was as comfortable as they possibly could be.
As a whole the evening was fantastic, one of the best evenings of fine dinning I've ever experienced, together with the added enjoyment of the wine tasting, made for a truly delightful evening. The type of evening that leaves you with a smile on your face for days after. And all this for a mere £35.00......complete Bargain !!!! Top marks all round, thanks a lot guys, we will definitely be back :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank secreteater72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Llandyrnog, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Denbigh, Denbighshire
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing