We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Sundays are for”

The White Horse Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Pub, Welsh, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The White Horse Restaurant is located in the hamlet of Hendrerwydd near Ruthin within the Vale of Clwyd, North Wales Surrounded by stunning scenery and overlooking the Clwydian hills, it's a place to leave the busy world behind and come and enjoy good food and a wide selection of beverages. With two roaring fires to cosy up too during the colder winter months and alfresco dinning on the decked area to enjoy the stunning scenery by candle light during the warmer summer months. Our 2014 menu offers a thoughtful take on British dining using a wide selection of seasonal and Welsh ingredients. We always keep two well looked after real ales, always one from microbreweries as close as possible to the White Horse.
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What Sundays are for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Used to go here regularly under a former regime. First visit for some time and it surpassed all expectations. A really warm welcome, attentive but not over-bearing service, and fabulous food. It's only just up the road for us so there is a real danger of it once again becoming a regular haunt, but well worth travelling for if you are not local. A great addition to a burgeoning gastronomic offering in the vale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twigthepig2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    16
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ruthin, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing food, atmosphere and service! Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I went for lunch today (8th August) when we arrived we received a warm welcome. There is a wide range of drinks to choose from and the menu is perfect and we are looking forward to trying the new menu which will be starting next week. My boyfriend had duck and it was cooked beautifully as was my steak, the quality of the food is the best I have tasted around the area. The service was amazing and we didn't have to wait for anything. Lovely pub, lovely food and lovely people. Will be recommending to everyone and will definitely be going back soon :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helen_stafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruthin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Village Pub and Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having eaten on numerous occasions before, the White Horse really does not dissapoint. Great food in a really relaxing and casual environment that is still elegant. Me and my girlfriend both had the steaks, which were cooked perfectly and the desserts were excellent. The selection of beers, ales, wines is as good as anywhere. The service was a little on the slow side but when the restaurant is full of people I do understand. Really enjoyed the meal, do not forget to book so as not to be dissapointed and miss out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank STE2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends who live local. Really good menu choices, nice atmosphere. Food was excellent, service friendly and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank john_ramsey_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale of Clwyd
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great food,great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited on a recent Summer evening as part of a group of 10 people. All these people commented verbally on the high quality and standard of the meals chosen. The restaurant e-mailed me a menu beforehand so that we could pre-order our meals, this made it easier and quicker since the restaurant is very busy. The atmosphere is very relaxed and comfortable. The bar staff and the restaurant staff were all very accommodating during our time there which made the evening even more enjoyable. Well done White Horse staff, wished I lived in your village!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymro33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Restaurant also viewed

Llandyrnog, Denbighshire
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 
Ruthin, Denbighshire
 

Been to The White Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing