We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we were looking for”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Saint-Bonnet-Troncais, Allier, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Brucesrob...
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our plan was to immerse ourselves in the true France. This was achieved! John and Angie are wonderful hosts; and thank goodness for us! Without their French language skills we would still be lost.
The apartment is as described; sitting right on a fishing lake. It was a beautiful setting.
We enjoyed a wonderful holiday and did some great exploring - the rental car was essential.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 13, 2015
Thank you so much and a wonderful pleasure to meet such lovely people.Hope to meet again one day.,!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise R
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape”
Reviewed September 16, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We had no idea where we were going or where we would end up. It was bliss. Ange met us at St Amand Montrond Orval, took us to get our supplies (supermarket) and delivered us to our accommodation. The photos do not lie, the house does sit on the Etang de Troncais, right on the water. It was quaint and just what we thought it would be. Ange made sure we had everything we needed and offered transport to the nearest town to collect a rental car and kept in touch to make sure we were ok. It was quiet, restful and offered us a much needed break. It is a fishing lake and we saw many large fish jumping; swallows feeding before their long migratory flight and people trying hard to land a carp. The village is small with a cafe and hotel. The forest is on your doorstep in every direction. Would we recommend? Yes, definitely. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We stayed for two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness
Liked least: Roadworks going on up the road - but they will be finished now.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 17, 2015
Thank you so much for the very positive review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay and with the weather being good.
Lovely having 'lovely' people to stay and hope to meet again one day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LesleyBos...
Silfiac, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what a great place to stay !”
Reviewed June 2, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I really hope you book the maison d`etang, because I would like you to have as great a time on holiday as we did. It was a fantastic location and a real home from home. Seeing wildlife from the wrap around balcony, lounge, kitchen and bedroom was a real treat. If you want to unwind in a peaceful and tranquil location you wont find a better place. The owners were really friendly and helpful, there was plenty of things to do, and bars and restaurants are local. It is well situated to explore the area or you could just stay local and enjoy the 11000HA forest of Troncais. You can expect a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the tranquility and location
Liked least: only stayed 1 week
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2015
Thank you for your 'complimentary comments ', and really pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lovely area.
Hope to welcome you again, anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A A
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed August 20, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Good fishing location. The apartment is right on the lake so it was easy for the the boys to fish early morning/late evening. The views across the lake from the balcony are lovely; perfect for sitting with a cup of tea/glass of wine and good book. .

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
Thank you so much for the kind comments and very happy you all enjoyed your relaxing holiday.
Hope to welcome you again,anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lakeside location
Liked least: WiFi was not working due to problems in the local area
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Aug 22, 2014
Lovely review, thank you so much and a pleasure to accommodate such appreciative guests.will be delighted to welcome you to return ,perhaps in spring or autumn as the wildlife picture is forever changing with the seasons.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
delepaugu...
Beaune, France
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 30, 2017
Je vous remercie pour votre commentaire très gentil. Espoir que vous avez apprécié votre séjour.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pakito972
Bordeaux, France
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue
Liked least: De ne pas rester plus lontemps
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2015
Merci beaucoup pour votre tres gentil review! Nous esperon vous returner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing