We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly staff, comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard Chevy Chase. The hotel is relatively new, having been gutted completely from the previous owners/managers (a Holiday Inn). The rooms are nicely appointed, if rather small. Best as a business hotel, but was fine for the family. A relatively short 2 block walk to a variety of restaurants, and to a wonderful Whole Foods supermarket with in-house cafe and deli. Hotel is located on a stretch of Wisconsin Avenue known as DC's answer to Rodeo Drive.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bcbg68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 382 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2010

The location of the Courtyard Marriott is excellent. The decor of the hotel is great. Check in was great. The bistro staff friendly and food was okay but that is where the service ends. The noise from the heating unit made it impossible to sleep. The tv does not drown out the noise it makes. Calling the front desk brings a blanket and apology for the heating unit not working properly. Moving to another room makes no difference as none work properly. I spent all night trying to problem solve the heater myself. Receiving free breakfast and having to tip for bad service the night before just makes you feel more like you have been totally used. Stay anyplace else but here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank OntheroadMom57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My wife, daughter and I stayed here over the weekend (11/5-11/7). We chose this hotel because it is near the home of some relatives we were visiting, but the location has many other good features. It's near lots of shopping and restaurants, and there's a Metro station within a few blocks (easily walkable).

The hotel looks great -- there must have been a recent renovation. The room was a bit on the small side, but well designed, so everything fit without seeming overcrowded. I suspect the rooms may have been originally intended to hold 2 double beds rather than the 2 queens that we had (which were great -- I'd rather have the larger beds than a little extra space).

The LEED gold certification means that they have low flow fixtures in the bathroom. It all works fine (bath lovers beware -- our room had a large shower rather than a tub) but the low flow shower head means that washing your hair will take a bit longer than you expect.

Parking in the attached garage was $15/day, a necessary evil in this type of location. There is some sort of renovation or rebuilding project in progress on the garage. It generates a fair amount of noise (jack hammers removing old concrete), even on Saturday (but not on Sunday). This is obviously a temporary problem, but I don't know when it's supposed to be completed. You might be able to avoid the noise by requesting an even-numbered room (the odd-numbered rooms face the side of the building where the construction is happening), but that side of the building faces Wisconsin Avenue, so traffic noise might be a problem, especially on lower floors.

We also were bothered a bit by some mechanical noise that we believe was coming from the elevators (it was just a minor nuisance -- it didn't keep us from falling asleep). If you're particularly sensitive to that sort of thing, you might want to request an even-numbered room (the elevators are on the odd-numbered side) or a room toward either end of the hall.

I shouldn't dwell on the minor annoyances, however. Overall, this hotel served our needs very well, and we wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jensdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I spent three nights at this hotel in mid October. Supposedly it had just undergone a substantial renovation, possibly converted from a Holiday Inn. The rooms were very small, the bathroom was extremely cramped with a cheap lightweight toilet seat. The closet was so shallow that clothes had to be hung front to back on a short peg rather than on a rod from end to end. The staff, while courteous, was untrained and not particularly bright, When I asked for directions to my destination I was given information that indicated it was 9.2 miles when in fact it was only 2 miles away. The prices were extremely high. I would absolutely avoid staying at this location in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sidneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

The recently renovated hotel is in a great location, in an upscale shoppping area (think Saks and Tiffany's ) , and near the metro. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms and lobby attractively appointed in tasteful modern decor.
My room on 4 was very clean, plush and comfortable, and had a spacious view. Even the hallways are upbeat and pleasant. There is a nice bar/cafe in the lobby, where breakfast is served in the morning. You can get a free cup of coffee in the lobby 24/7.
A convenience area has inexpensive snacks. My complaints: the TV froze on channel 18 which had movies. Apparently this is a problem in all the rooms and hasn't been fixed. One of the 3 elevators wasn't working. Worst problem: My verizon cell phone couldn't get a signal in many areas, but a guest told me that her AT&T worked fine.
It wasn't perfect, but I might give it another try.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYfussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Nice refurbished rooms.The hotel is close to all shopping and metro transportation is one block away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisvillelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent seven days there. It is a very nice property. Clean & comfortable room, and a pleasant & helpful staff. Great location for catching the Metro into DC, only three blocks away in a very upscale neighborhood. The only thing that would have been better, would be a hot tub to soak in after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cascade_IdahoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 10 in Bethesda
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
1,956 reviews
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#5 of 10 in Bethesda
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range: $127 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Enjoy a perfect location close to our Nation's Capital when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase. We're a preferred choice among hotels in Chevy Chase, Maryland for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Washington D.C. and its top destinations like American University, government offices and tourist attractions. We've received the coveted LEED Gold Certification, making us an ideal hotel for those looking for green accommodations. Enjoy spacious hotel rooms and everything you need for a wonderful stay here, including free Wi-Fi, a seasonal outdoor pool, an on-site restaurant and ample meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing