We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms were too small, the staff untrained and the prices too high.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2010

I spent three nights at this hotel in mid October. Supposedly it had just undergone a substantial renovation, possibly converted from a Holiday Inn. The rooms were very small, the bathroom was extremely cramped with a cheap lightweight toilet seat. The closet was so shallow that clothes had to be hung front to back on a short peg rather than on a rod from end to end. The staff, while courteous, was untrained and not particularly bright, When I asked for directions to my destination I was given information that indicated it was 9.2 miles when in fact it was only 2 miles away. The prices were extremely high. I would absolutely avoid staying at this location in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sidneym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (376)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 376 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

The recently renovated hotel is in a great location, in an upscale shoppping area (think Saks and Tiffany's ) , and near the metro. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms and lobby attractively appointed in tasteful modern decor.
My room on 4 was very clean, plush and comfortable, and had a spacious view. Even the hallways are upbeat and pleasant. There is a nice bar/cafe in the lobby, where breakfast is served in the morning. You can get a free cup of coffee in the lobby 24/7.
A convenience area has inexpensive snacks. My complaints: the TV froze on channel 18 which had movies. Apparently this is a problem in all the rooms and hasn't been fixed. One of the 3 elevators wasn't working. Worst problem: My verizon cell phone couldn't get a signal in many areas, but a guest told me that her AT&T worked fine.
It wasn't perfect, but I might give it another try.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYfussylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Nice refurbished rooms.The hotel is close to all shopping and metro transportation is one block away.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank louisvillelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We spent seven days there. It is a very nice property. Clean & comfortable room, and a pleasant & helpful staff. Great location for catching the Metro into DC, only three blocks away in a very upscale neighborhood. The only thing that would have been better, would be a hot tub to soak in after a long day of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cascade_IdahoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Pros: Nice hotel in a good location, a couple of blocks from the Metro. Attractive rooms and public areas. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Neighborhood has high-end shopping and a variety of restaurants.

Cons: Unless you get a special rate, the hotel can be pricey. Our king room was well furnished but quite cramped for two people considering the price. It was maddening that the elevators were crowded and slow, but there was no access to the stairwells from the lobby level. Lobby staff did not seem to go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dennis1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed here based on previous Marriott experiences, however this hotel does not represent the chain well when it comes to hospitality and guest consideration. Our rooms were not ready and when we were checked in they were still dirty. No one from the Guest Services or upper management was willing to talk to us despite several requests to see the GM. We will not stay at this hotel again and advise our corporate offices to use any other hotels in the area, except the Chevy Chase Courtyard.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanfrancisco2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
efrainer, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2010

On behalf of the entire management team of the Courtyard Chevy Chase,
we wanted to take this opportunity to apologize for your less than
satisfactory stay at our property. It is important to us that all of
our guests have a positive experience at our hotel. Please contact us
so that we can make this right.

Sincerely,

Jim Carroll,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2010

It's new renovated, the room is very comfortable with good quality linens, very convenient, clear, warm service, non-smoking hotel. If your budget is around $200-250, this is a good choice. Subway is about 3 mins walk, same as a super market. Very good neighborhood, with classic and luxurious brand stores down the street.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank USACHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
151 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range: $110 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Enjoy a perfect location close to our Nation's Capital when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase. We're a preferred choice among hotels in Chevy Chase, Maryland for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Washington D.C. and its top destinations like American University, government offices and tourist attractions. We've received the coveted LEED Gold Certification, making us an ideal hotel for those looking for green accommodations. Enjoy spacious hotel rooms and everything you need for a wonderful stay here, including free Wi-Fi, a seasonal outdoor pool, an on-site restaurant and ample meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing