We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More ups than downs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“More ups than downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2010

After a three day stay, I would probably stay here again, but would check the rates on other hotels in the area first. The high point is that the hotel has been recently renovated and the public areas and rooms were spotless...one of my priority evaluation points for a hotel stay. The lobby is pleasantly colorful, but is very small and while the designer did the best they could with the space, I felt as if I was running an obstacle course around the furniture and guests at the front desk (podiums) every time I came in. The business center area of the lobby and restaurant also overlap. It's a strange layout that tries to fit all the hotel functions into an area too small for them all...but, it's do-able if a bit tight.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, but not always well-informed. Housekeeping was overly zealous and threw away boxed food we had left in the room for later. We were offered a meal as replacement, a delicious breakfast in the small hotel restaurant, however, the offer was made later and was not communicated to the restaurant staff or the manager the next morning. This was remedied with absolutely no argument on the hotel's part. When we took one of the three elevators down to the lobby along with a hotel employee, the doors failed to open and we were told "this happens sometimes." Ummm, if you are aware of this ongoing problem, should it not be fixed? Doors were pried open and we did not get on that elevator again.

We stayed in a king bed (extremly comfortable) room that was spacious enough, but would be a lot tighter with two beds. The bathroom is small and has an odd layout, but it works well enough. No tub, only a shower. Low-flow-optional toilet. Again, the room was immaculately clean.

Parking is in an underground garage and is limited and very tight. However, at $15 a day, it's a bargain in DC. You'll pay at least $25 or more downtown, more for valet. Close proximity to the Metro station (2-3 blocks) and high end shops is one of the hotel's best features. There are several restaurants in easy walking distance, more close by if you have a car. We ate at Clyde's (a DC area chain) and Indique Heights, both were very good. Popi's(?) Pizza closer to Nebraska Ave. was also good if you have a car for carryout or the appeared to deliver. The hotel is also close to AMerican University, but definitely not within walking distance.

All in all, an okay stay, more good than bad.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littleyacht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    143
    58
    8
    11
See reviews for
123
51
28
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooresville, nc
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

We made the reservation over the internet...and you are never REALLY sure what you will find. This hotel was EXCELLENT! It is well located for METRO, shopping, and a variety of restaurants. It was squeaky clean, and the staff was friendly and helpful! It seemed to have been recently redecorated, and it was beautiful with lots of bright, happy colors! Internet access in lobby was great (I had not brought my own computer)! Parking was handy and the price for parking was good by DC standards! I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NCNANNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

This hotel is within walking distance of the Friendship Heights Metro Station and many high end shops. There are also many nice restaurants nearby. The room was clean but the bed was extremely firm and uncomfortable. We tried calling the front desk to see if they had an "egg crate" or something to give us to add a little padding. The hotel staff brought us some extra blankets and pillows to try to help but there was just no getting comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachBunnyAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2010

Made a reservation for Feb 6th - but a record blizzard hit the DC / Mid Atlantic area that day, shutting the city and stopping all transportation. I was (obviously) unable to make it into DC - a state of emergency having been declared anyway. Since I had purchased a non-refundable reservation, I asked the hotel for a rain check, not a refund. The hotel refused. They have both my $109, as well as much ill will from a frequent traveler. I will NEVER stay there, and urge others to beware.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank desmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managua, Nicaragua
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

Redone recently,modern clean and nice rooms,well located...reception staff ok some looked tired...bar-dining area very clean and very nice staff..try the yougurt with granola and berries for breakfast.. it is excellent..in general a good stay..only complain is we had noicy neigbors across the hall for a while....

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luladeNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

This hotel is located in a perfect location with all the shopping / restaurants within 2 blocks.
With the Metro, movies, great restaurants, all the retail, I will make sure I choose this hotel on my next DC visit.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2009

My review is simple:
wonderful hotel, comfortable, squeeky clean rooms.
great bistro at the lobby - wonderful breakfast. and reasonably priced.
the staff is helpful and cordial.
great location: two blocks from Friendship Heights metro station. (red line).
two blocks from a wonderful shopping area (on the street not a mall) with lots of great stores and restauranrs. even a huge supermarket ('Giant').
perfect stay. fun vacation.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsnatShaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,411 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chevy Chase

Property: Courtyard Chevy Chase
Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-4403
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing