We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“As long as parking and Free Coffee ain't your thing” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Chevy Chase

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“As long as parking and Free Coffee ain't your thing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This has got to be my fifth stay at this property and we come back due to its excellent location and looking to earn more reward points with Marriott. Only stayed one nite to extend business trip and visit friends in the area. As I say tough to beat location with trendy restaurants and shops near by (trendy means expensive) but access to Metro and main roads is tough to beat whether in town for business/or the weekend with kids to see all DC has to offer. The staff is friendly and the property is clean, smaller European style rooms (meaning small/families take note) Okay the issues, parking while many hotels with limited parking have taken to valet and/or charge overnight, this one has plenty of parking on back deck on the weekends, but the hotel still tries to charge 15.00 per nite but no one attends the lot and really most guests just park for free. I was told of the charge but when I kicked, the charge didn't appear on the bill, now something to really grind your gears. I am no coffee drinker but get for my wife in the am, free coffee is no more, you now have to go into restaurant wait in line and pay. I know its a small thing but after thirty plus years at Marriott's and especially Courtyard I think free coffee is a nice PERK for all the years of loyalty. So if this doesn't get you steamed up, maybe this hotel's for you.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    143
    57
    8
    11
See reviews for
123
51
28
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions. It is always clean and comfortable. The entire staff is very courteous and professional. It has a good location and is located close to the Metro. The pool is a great treat in the summer, too.
We are however, quite disappointed that the morning coffee in the lobby has been discontinued. We looked forward to it and enjoyed it very much. Overall this is a very nice stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during the week of Christmas. It was clean and attractive, with a wonderfully friendly staff, but the room was just average. The mattress was a bit too firm. The bathroom had no exhaust fan, which meant that the mirror immediately fogged up and remained that way. My biggest complaint was the heating system. Even though we set the thermostat low, to keep it cool overnight, the heat would still kick on in the middle of the night. My husband had to get up each night and fiddle with the controls to get the room cooled down again. I see that mine isn't the first review to mention this.

The other odd thing was that, despite having a very pleasant little restaurant, there was no lounge or bar anywhere in the hotel. My husband and I aren't drinkers, so we didn't care. If you were expecting to enjoy a cocktail, however, you would be out of luck. There must be a zoning issue involved that doesn't allow for the availability of alcohol.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank froggielorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Not sure when this property was opened, but it seemed like it was a new place. Everything was clean and well kept. With Courtyard you pretty much know what you are going to get and this location doesn’t disappoint (if you are a fan of Courtyard that is).

Despite being vanilla, it was a nice place and the employees working there were friendly and courteous too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharksfansd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm adjusting my expectations of Marriott to Howard Johnson/Best Western levels, and with that in mind this was a decent hotel. The room appeared recently renovated and was very nice. There were sufficient outlets in the room. Only a shower, however. And the pool is summer only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuniperCreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend visiting family. Great location for shopping at Saks, Neimans, Gucci, Cartier, etc etc. Rooms are typical. Heating system could use an update. Very noisy. Either too hot or too cold. Free internet and also computers in the lobby. Downside is parking is $15 a day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianemontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a week while in the area for business. The hotel staff was very welcoming and provided insight on things to do while not working. It should also be noted that the hotel is modern, well maintained, centrally located, and smells amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Chevy Chase

Property: Courtyard Chevy Chase
Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815-4403
Location: United States > Maryland > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing