We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Nearby Hotels
$239
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$259
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Doubletree by Hilton Bethesda - Washington DC(Bethesda)(Great Value!)
$207
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$119
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$263
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Bethesda Marriott(Bethesda)(Great Value!)
$195
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
$159
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveler rating
134
168
64
10
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
168
64
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendship heightshigh end shoppingmetro stationwhole foodswisconsin avenueamerican universitysaks fifth avenuejimmy chooindoor parkingunderground garageoutdoor poolwalk in showerlocation is greatdc areablock walksmall fridgewithin walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 391 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pretty large for a Courtyard Hotel- relatively easy-o- off a few miles from route 95 subway to downtown DC if you want it typical "quasi-surburban/city" with major upscale shopping and restaurants- nothing unique - stopped her to see family on way back fro Florida so convenient for us and them

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanONYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hello AlanONYC,

Thank you for your review. Many guests find our location midway between Interstate 95 and downtown Washington, D.C. very convenient, and I'm glad you did too. Of course, the upscale shopping and dining in the area sure doesn't hurt either! We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are here for a family visit. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Hi, checked into hotel after booking online for $220 a night (not including taxes, fees, etc) over $700 for 3 nights in a double room - not a suite). Way overpriced! Unbelievably it was sold out for the days that we were there (4/22 - 4/25). The room was very cramped. The bed space was about 14' by 12'. There were ~12 inches between the closet and the bed. The closet was less than 2 ft deep. (See photos... though perspective hard to show). The room was clean and quiet (on the 12th floor, away from the elevators). The lobby staff was cordial. The cleaning staff was friendly. The exercise room was nothing special, but adequate. We didn't eat in the restaurant. No free breakfast, but there was free in room internet. The towels were soft and absorbent; the water flow is not typical, but adequate. However, don't wash your hair; there is not enough force to rinse well. The sheets and spread were comfortable, but the bed was too firm. The hotel is only 3blocks from Metro, in an upscale neighborhood (Friendship Heights). However, this is not an upscale hotel. I've stayed in better rooms, with more amenities and better prices at many other hotels, including all suites. Not a bad hotel at all, but way overpriced for what you get. In this case, you don't get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Kathy B,
Thank you for your detailed review and your comments on our friendly staff and clean guestrooms. I am sorry that you experienced your guestroom and closet to be lacking in size. We are a renovated hotel (not a new build) and did our best to configure our rooms for the most efficient use of the existing space. Also, I understand your comment about the shower water pressure being adequate. Our showerheads are by design, “low flow” and part of our LEED building specifications to conserve water and do our part to reduce our footprint on the environment. With regard to pricing, I admit that it is at its peak in April due to it being Cherry Blossom Season and the weekdays do sell out consistently with steady corporate business travel to the area. Please consider shopping our hotel rates for the summer months when our area is a great value compared to downtown D.C. If you do book with us again, please be sure to take that opportunity to enjoy our hotel’s non-standard, Courtyard amenities such as our full service restaurant and lounge, evening room service, bicycles for nearby trail riding, outdoor terrace and outdoor pool. We hope you do come back and try us out again! Amy Harris, Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

How this could be the #1 ranked hotel in Chevy Chase is a mystery to me. Let me list the disappointments:
1. The garage is a forbidding labyrinth underneath the hotel with a maze of pillars and extraordinarily tight spaces. There should be an award for emerging without body damage.
2. The standard single king bed room is claustrophobic, and the bathroom has no tub.
3. The eco-friendly faucet in the bathroom has a feeble flow rate.
4. The heating/airconditioning unit sounds like a jet engine.
5. The idiotically installed room safe does not permit the closet doors to open or close properly, rendering half of the closet inaccessible.
6. Our room was not made up after the first night.
This hotel was designed by spreadsheet jockeys with no practical understanding of what contributes to human comfort. It is an embarrassment to the Marriott brand.

Room Tip: Do not choose the single king bed room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HHovaness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear HHovaness,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry you found our hotel to be an embarrassment to the Marriott brand; we have received many accolades for our LEED building design (of the hotel, we do not own or operate the garage) and I am troubled that you found the hotel to be such a disappointment. IWe do have over 70 guestrooms with bathtubs and even more King bedded rooms that are large with sofa beds in them. I apologize if these options were requested by you at check-in and were not available for the dates of your stay. In addition, I am concerned to hear you did not receive housekeeping service one night during your stay. Please feel free to contact me directly at (301) 656-1500 x7010 if you would like to give me more details on your stay so that I may follow up personally on your concerns. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in Chevy Chase for two days this month in connection with an academic event. I really enjoyed my stay. The hotel is, as others have noted, in a very upscale shopping district near (about three blocks away from) the Friendship Heights Metro station. Apart from dome popcorn fragments under the sofa in my room (which I found when I dropped something that rolled under the edge of the sofa), my room was clean and well-stocked with amenities (although it's impossible to get lotion, shampoo, and conditioner--all of which are great products--out of the containers in any quantities). I asked the staff for assistance on a number of things during the days I was there, and I got what I asked for in full immediately. I will look into staying here on future trips . . . .

Room Tip: Not any real views here. My room looked out the front of the hotel, and I could see Sachs Fifth Avenue. Pretty boring . . . .
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heminway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Heminway,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel after your stay in April. I am pleased to hear our staff was very responsive to your needs and that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Also, thanks for letting us know about the popcorn under the sofa. I will be sure to tell our housekeeping supervisors so they can spot check that area in the rooms with couches. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed 2 nights during cherry blossom time and were treated well. Maid service was excellent. Location is convenient to DC attractions, without the high rates downtown. Hope we stay in Chevy Chase again.

Room Tip: Parking costs $15 per night.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear klep,

I am very happy that you felt you were treated well when you stayed with us during Cherry Blossom season. It is such a busy time for the area and we are glad you found our hotel to be convenient to Washington, D.C. attractions, and a value for the price paid. I especially appreciate your nice comment about our excellent housekeeping service and will be sure to pass it on to the Housekeeping Department! We look forward to your return to our hotel again in the future. Amy Harris, Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews