We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some major flaws, but overall satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 11, 2012

The room was large, comfortable, but the closet horrendous and very poorly designed. There was basically one rack to hang things one behind the other. Parking was $15 , but there was no attendant on weekdends and the lot was only 1/3 full. ANYBODY in the area could have parked for free!. The hotel should not charge for parking on weekends! We could have used another towel rack in the bathroom; certainly there is room for one. We did not have hot water one morning. The front desk people were very apologetic and gave us a fair reimbursement for our inconvenience. The hotel has a nice fitness area. The hotel is in a very lovely area, conventient to the Metro and lot's of restaurants and shopping nearby. The restaurant is very good.. Unfortunately, we asked for a room away from the elevator, but even on a weekday and early arrival, , the staff would not honor our request. As it turns out, we could hear the elevator, but it was very quiet, so it did not present a major problem.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geno63_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

263 - 269 of 382 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

I would have absolutely loved to give this property the complete amount of "circles". Unfortunately, there were some minor details that should not have been something I would encounter. Working for this brand myself in another state, I can easily tell if things are not correct.

We pulled up to the Courtyard, went in to register and I of course was asked for a credit card for incidentals. We were staying here for my boyfriend's interview with Geico which is conveniently located just a few blocks away so the room charge was being direct billed. Upon first arrival the front desk supervisor checked us in and was friendly but seemed disinterested (I am going to attribute this to how busy they were because she was very friendly when we asked her for delivery recommendations and teased about how cold we looked).

Manny and Olgas was fast and FANTASTIC, a recommendation by the front desk and they had the ability to order online so I could verify my order.

The room was SPOTLESS. I am a stickler for clean hotel rooms ( I pull down the sheets and all) and was very impressed. Our room attendants name was Augustina G and she did such a wonderful job on our room, even the back of the TV was dust free. Very impressive.

During the night the AC clicked and was very loud, but these things happen.

Housekeeping did not wait for us to check out though before they knocked and tried to enter the room in the later morning though, which was rather disconcerting but I got a very sincere apology.

Upon check out I noticed that my receipt was not correct. I still had a balance of 211 and some odd change (on check out your balance should be zero and with the Courtyard system is would show what charges were charged to which card/Direct Bill). The clerk, Tiana, informed me that my card had not been authorized or swiped for incidentals on check in, so I was very glad that I stopped at the desk before leaving. After some time she was able to remedy the situation and things were fine.

Our room was located right off the elevator and it was actually incredibly quiet!

Some things that I would like to note about the service in this hotel:
- When I asked about areas that would be good for a young couple to settle down they were more than willing to accommodate by helping me find websites and directing me to areas that were less expensive than Chevy Chase.
- My boyfriend had a day long interview so I spent a lot of time in the lobby (in fact, I am here now) and the lunch waitress came and asked me if I would like a glass of ice water which I thought was very nice since she had noticed I had been in the lobby for a long time and I wasn't even in the lunch area
- The staff was genuinely concerned about the well being of my property and those staying there who are victims of Hurricane Sandy which meant a lot.
- Carlos who was our waiter at breakfast was so very friendly!!

While there is room for some staff improvement (I do not know how long any of the desk clerks have been there) I appreciate their pride in diversity (their name tags show where they are from) and their friendliness when approached. At times though, I wish they would have acknowledged me as the lunch waitress did. I wish I knew her name, unfortunately I was on hold on the phone at the time and failed to pay enough attention.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at the hotel while visiting my daughter at American University. The hotel is convienently located about 3 blocks from the Friendship Heights red line Metro stop, which seemed to be a very safe, upscale area.(Saks 5th Ave, Jimmy Choo, Tiffany's,etc) Although there are not any restaurants in the immediate area of the hotel, there are many within a 5-10 minute walk, along with a Giant Food Mart.

Our room during our first stay was a "handicap" room which I found out on my second stay is slightly larger than a regular room. Both rooms were immaculately clean, there was a flat nice flat screen TV, but changing channels was a little aggrevating because it seemed to get stuck on every change. (a minor complaint, I know). My only complaint was that in my bathroom, there was a small wall that divided the sink counter up into one VERY small counter and the sink almost next to the toilet. It was a little strange. One thing that I did like was there was no annoying knocking in the morning to clean my room. There were two different kinds of pillows on my bed, so I could sorta customize it for my best sleep. Other than that, the free internet was a little slow at times, but was fine. The front desk was always helpful and cheerful. I would stay here again and again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feddy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Chevy Chase Courtyard is a well-located hotel in a high-end shopping district on Wisconsin Avenue. The Washington metro is about at 10 minute walk. There are many nice restaurants in the area. The room was very clean and comfortable with nice bedding and pillows. The bathroom was large and bright with a nice walkin shower. The only negative thing about the smallish room was that it needs better lighting over the dressing mirror. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant each morning and two evenings. The food was very good and the service efficient. We will certainly choose this hotel again when visiting Washington.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Musicrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is well-maintained and newly renovated. The atmosphere is of the hotel is more modern compared to other hotels and in some ways already has an out-dated look to it because of it's attempt to be ultra modern. Nevertheless, the stay was good. Beds were comfortable and the hotel staff is very friendly and accomodating. The fitness room is far too small and lacks equipment that you would expect from a hotel like this and the area that it is located. I would agree with others that the price is far too expensive for what you get, however there isn't really many options in this immediate area so without comparable competition, there's no need for them to lower the price. All in all, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidGeorgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYCC, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Dear MidGeorgia,

Thank you for your feedback on our hotel and staff. We are happy that you feel our hotel is well maintained and our staff is friendly.

We regret that our fitness room is too small for your liking and wish there was a way that we could change that. However, we hope that our ability to keep our equipment well maintained and up-to-date, will keep you coming back. There are large health clubs within walking distance to the hotel that may better suit your needs. Our front desk staff would be happy to give you that information upon your next visit. We look forward to your return to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Location is great, 5 mins from Friendship Heights Metro Station( Red Line). All of the attractions of Washington DC can be reached within 20 minutes
Many shopping (Bloomingdales) and dining possibilities nearby(we ate Whole Foods and Cheessecake Factory)

Staff was professional

The room was big, clean, and the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkX86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Three of us were traveling together to go see the sites in DC. The metro station is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Completely walk-able. About an hour via metro from Ronald Reagan Airport. 20 minutes via metro to the National Mall. The atmosphere is very modern, very clean. Rooms were a little small, but nothing that prevented movement or felt claustrophobic. The shower-head has an extremely weak pressure/flow. The mattress was a little hard for my taste, but the pillows were very comfortable. The staff were always very pleasant and helpful. There is a market that replaces any vending machines in the lobby area, but the prices are incredibly reasonable. A 20 oz bottle of soda was $1.50, which was cheaper than the close by CVS. The restaurant was reasonably priced as well, nothing over $20 and there were only a few items that were on the high end. It was all very tasty. The only reason I give it a 4 instead of a 5 is that it was a little pricey. We stayed there for 4 nights and got a discounted price on the last night, but it was still tight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badgerfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chevy Chase
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Bethesda Marriott
#2 of 10 in Bethesda
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Washington DC / Connect...
#122 of 141 in Washington DC
1,956 reviews
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#5 of 10 in Bethesda
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase

Address: 5520 Wisconsin Ave, Chevy Chase, MD 20815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Montgomery County > Chevy Chase
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chevy Chase
Price Range: $127 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated! Enjoy a perfect location close to our Nation's Capital when you stay at Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase. We're a preferred choice among hotels in Chevy Chase, Maryland for business and leisure travel, offering proximity to Washington D.C. and its top destinations like American University, government offices and tourist attractions. We've received the coveted LEED Gold Certification, making us an ideal hotel for those looking for green accommodations. Enjoy spacious hotel rooms and everything you need for a wonderful stay here, including free Wi-Fi, a seasonal outdoor pool, an on-site restaurant and ample meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chevy Chase reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Chevy Chase Hotel Chevy Chase
Holiday Inn Chevy Chase
Chevy Chase Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing