We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very Good Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alfio's La Cucina D'Italia

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alfio's La Cucina D'Italia
Ranked #18 of 31 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I love the 4 cheese pizza. Get it well done and add Riccotta cheese. It is excellent. Food is good and service is usually good. Close to the office, I eat here at least twice a month.

Prices are okay. Service at lunch is reasonably quick.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CezWho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Just good basic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Ran into Alfio's in Chevy Chase after finding out Frescatti's had closed. Wonderful experience. The food was delightful--simple, but just right. Very resonably priced. The wait staff was very attentive. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old World”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Alfio's is a standard Italian restaurant. We enjoyed our meal but it was not outstanding. It was convenient to our hotel and we were not anxious to drive or take a cab somewhere. It was quiet and clean and the food was good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank azcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

We had a wonderful experience! The matre di was very accomadating for our large party. The staff were all very attentive and friendly. The food was extremely flavorful. We had a party of 10 and every dish was devoured!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Picadilly24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown-Warren, OH
Level Contributor
131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant, Great Atmosphere and Nice food, but Pricy and Small Portions”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This restaurant is a classic Italian grille. That said, there are a lot of chicken, seafood, and veal options on the menu. As far as variety, the menu is fairly extensive for a restaurant of its kind. The actual food is quite tasty but the portions were extremely small, and the only available side was pasta. Also, the salad bar was nothing to write home about either. And everything on the menu was a little pricey. If you do eat here however, I would recommend you get the canolli for dessert; it was the best one I've ever had. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant for anyone not on a budget.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cmsgreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alfio's La Cucina D'Italia also viewed

 

Been to Alfio's La Cucina D'Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing