We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Very Good Chinese Food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meiwah Restaurant

Meiwah Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Washington DC
Level Contributor
184 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Very Good Chinese Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

We have done take out and dine in and it is always very good. It is, however, NOT Hong Kong good. Had one problem on a delivery once - no plum sauce for the duck but when we called they sent it but took a while. Efficent and good food and there is parking in the basement and street if you can find it. Do NOT park illegaly - the Friendship Heights private rent a cops write $50 tickets like no tomorrow. You have to ask for chop sticks and all the plastic wrapped sauces for take out as they hang on to them like it's their children!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCmdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    49
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awesome sushi, nice atmosphere. Service was a bit perfunctory, but that may have just been my perception.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaleGribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
244 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Consistent performer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

Friendship Heights gained a star when this opened and consistently performs well in terms of variety, freshness, and presentation. Fish dishes are standouts and the routine Chinese appetizers and "typical" dishes are well prepared and satisfying.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
845 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 485 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is on the second floor of a building and you should keep looking up to make sure you don't miss the extereior sign if you let your eyes get stuck at ground level. For an expensive part of the DC area, the food is quite good at a very good price. The service was quick and the staff friendly. This is an above-average Chinese restaurant with a decent selection (and you can get brown rice if you wish, in my experience something that is becoming more rare at Chinese restaurants). I will return when next in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Second Floor Treasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

Holiday shopping can be very tiring. I stop long enough to regroup and relax here at Meiwah in Chevy Chase and enjoy a lunch which I know will be good. A stones throw from CC department stores, this second-floor restaurant on the corner of The Hills Plaza road and Willard Ave, gives one the impression of being miles away from street bustle. There's a bonus--if you park in the garage across from Meiwah on The Hills Plaza road and take the RETAIL elevator up from P2 parking, it opens directly into Meiwah--fancy! The decor is great--subdued and modern--with huge windows overlooking the streets, making you feel like a Peeping Tom to the world below. As you pick up your cloth napkins (a nice touch at lunch), you notice the menu also includes sushi and, although I don't eat it, I hear it's very good. Moo Shu pork is tasty with plum sauce and wraps. One should not miss the eggplant--delicious. I've had most of the dishes here. They are consistent and although Americanized, always good. I'm not in town summers to enjoy the outdoor seating, but I hear it's great high in the sky. ( I have used their take-out service and had it delivered--so easy!) Co-owner Larry La certainly does a great job. I have followed him from City Lights, then downtown DC Meiwah, and now here. He's a pro in making a diner feel welcome and satisfied as well as providing a reasonable price point. Don't forget to have your parking ticket stamped in MeiWah before leaving.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiwah Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Meiwah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing