We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sushi”
Review of Meiwah Restaurant

Meiwah Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Awesome sushi, nice atmosphere. Service was a bit perfunctory, but that may have just been my perception.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DaleGribble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    53
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, MD
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Consistent performer”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Friendship Heights gained a star when this opened and consistently performs well in terms of variety, freshness, and presentation. Fish dishes are standouts and the routine Chinese appetizers and "typical" dishes are well prepared and satisfying.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jean A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
845 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

This is on the second floor of a building and you should keep looking up to make sure you don't miss the extereior sign if you let your eyes get stuck at ground level. For an expensive part of the DC area, the food is quite good at a very good price. The service was quick and the staff friendly. This is an above-average Chinese restaurant with a decent selection (and you can get brown rice if you wish, in my experience something that is becoming more rare at Chinese restaurants). I will return when next in the area.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnArborMiBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Second Floor Treasure”
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Holiday shopping can be very tiring. I stop long enough to regroup and relax here at Meiwah in Chevy Chase and enjoy a lunch which I know will be good. A stones throw from CC department stores, this second-floor restaurant on the corner of The Hills Plaza road and Willard Ave, gives one the impression of being miles away from street bustle. There's a bonus--if you park in the garage across from Meiwah on The Hills Plaza road and take the RETAIL elevator up from P2 parking, it opens directly into Meiwah--fancy! The decor is great--subdued and modern--with huge windows overlooking the streets, making you feel like a Peeping Tom to the world below. As you pick up your cloth napkins (a nice touch at lunch), you notice the menu also includes sushi and, although I don't eat it, I hear it's very good. Moo Shu pork is tasty with plum sauce and wraps. One should not miss the eggplant--delicious. I've had most of the dishes here. They are consistent and although Americanized, always good. I'm not in town summers to enjoy the outdoor seating, but I hear it's great high in the sky. ( I have used their take-out service and had it delivered--so easy!) Co-owner Larry La certainly does a great job. I have followed him from City Lights, then downtown DC Meiwah, and now here. He's a pro in making a diner feel welcome and satisfied as well as providing a reasonable price point. Don't forget to have your parking ticket stamped in MeiWah before leaving.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TrishHWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service, reasonable prices”
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Mei Wah offers a fairly standard menu familiar to most American tastes. I've been a regular customer for a few years and count on it as reliable and consistent. Service is fast, location is terrific. I've seen that they work hard to accommodate special customer needs and preferences if there are problems with certain ingredients. For both takeout and delivery, they can't be beat in the neighborhood.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Food-travel-joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiwah Restaurant also viewed

Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 
Chevy Chase, Montgomery County
Bethesda, Montgomery County
 

Been to Meiwah Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing