We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Japanese Food not just Sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase

Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase
Reserve with OpenTable
Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 32 Restaurants in Chevy Chase
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Western
Transit: Friendship Heights Metro station on the Red Line
Woodstock, Georgia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good Japanese Food not just Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Have had good sushi and other dishes here. Service is good, and the drink selection is good and reasonable. The only thing I didn't like was that they didn't offer Suracha sauce by policy. I, of course love that with Sushi.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    88
    31
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California/Italy
Level Contributor
257 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Pre-made rolls but good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Recommended by our hotel, we headed off to Sushi Ko anticipating sushi after a year in Italy where good sushi is rare. We did not find it at Sushi Ko, sorry to say. The tempura roll was soggy and the rice on the outside of the roll was glued to the seaweed....no individual grains common in freshly made sushi rolls. The rainbow roll, highly anticipated because of the various fish typically used, was full of avocado. The seaweed salad was strange, from my point of view...spinach below the seaweed and a cream dressing; good taste but it seemed somehow soggy and I actually prefer the seaweed salad served at our local sushi restaurant in Italy. Not sure what that means! My daughter filled out the evaluation form left in the payment folder.....food got a two and service a five. That's about right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LaBernardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, but always leave hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

Good sushi and mushroom soup, great black sesame ice cream. Beautiful food presentation and interior decor. Chicken teriyaki seems salty; I order this to fill me up. Easy to park.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank CookWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian and crab sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is my favorite restaurant at which to refuel while shopping in Friendship Heights. It's a very chill place, quiet enough for easy conversation both inside and out (on the small sidewalk seating area outside). As a lover of vegetarian sushi and crab-based sushi, I appreciate Sushi-Ko's excellent choices for both. In particular, I could eat zillions of pieces of their shiitake mushroom nigiri and jumbo lump crab sushi and still want zillions more. Service is generally friendly, but can be a little spacey (your server may disappear periodically). But I've always been happy with my sushi here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thegreatlizby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Always fresh, always stimulating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've gone there a lot because we live in the neighborhood ... One night, after I'd had a discussion with my boyfriend, the waiter noted that "Chelsea Clinton is dining with us tonight ..." I won the argument!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ebizaleth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Ko - Chevy Chase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing