We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“under Construction”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Cheverly
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“under Construction”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Clean, friendly, convenient. This H J offers you a clean room, nice hot breakfast and a free ride to the Metro. We stayed three nights so we could see the sights in Washington DC. They were still in the process of updating utilities but it really did not cause us any discomfort. The staff were friendly and seemed happily to accommodate any request. Its not the Ritz but I couldn't afford the Ritz anyway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Jack; Thank you for your review and being our guest at the Howard Johnson Washington DC North. Our goal is to provide an exceptional customer experience, in a clean, comfortable and friendly environment, every day for every guest. We are very pleased to see we met our goal and your expectations during your stay with us. To better serve our guests needs, we were busy with a utility upgrade and we'd like to thank you for sharing with us that it did not cause any issues for you, we worked as quickly and quietly as we could to be back on line so no guests stay were disrupted for too long. We are glad it did not affect your stay. Thank you again for your business, we hope you consider us for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    174
    155
    88
    69
See reviews for
262
109
48
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

My family and I stayed at the hotel for four days about two weeks ago. The first room we had was super hot (90 degrees) and smelled like stale cigarrettes even though we booked a non-smoking room. The toilet and the bathtub were dirty and there was alot of dust on the vents. We spoke to the front desk staff who gave us a different room that was much better. The second room was comfortable and clean. The beds were super comfortable and we defintitely slept well. We were at the end of the hall and did not experience any noise or disturbance. The breakfast was okay and the shuttle service was very convenient. Overall, the hotel was okay, but there were some "seedy" characters hanging around that made it seem like we were in a low-budget motel.

The area left much to be desired. We visited a local Mexican restaurant across the highway that served good food, but when we went to the local liquor store to buy some wine we were shocked! There was thick bulletproof glass and you had to order your liquor. The place looked like Fort Knox and there were interesting people in there asking for money or to hang out.

Overall, I would rather spend an extra $30-$40 a night to stay at a nicer hotel in a nicer area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lktorres063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear iktorres063; Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate the chance to switch your room and are very pleased to see you that was a much better and you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for letting us make that right.

We have a very ecclectic and diverse community filled with good people and certainly understand how that image is not what you expect to see when walking into a neighborhood store. Of course, the one thing we cannot change is our location.

We appreciate your business and hope you reconsider a future stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 10 days and I enjoyed it very much the staff were very friendly and helpful, The facilities at the hotel were very good with no problems for myself, The hotel overall was a very good stay and great value for what you get, they also have a very efficient free shuttle bus that brings you to and from the local train station that gets you to and from Washington DC. So there shouldn't be a problem for anyone that the hotel isn't in DC if you are wanting to go sightseeing etc. I do plan to stay there again when I go to Washington DC again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah L, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Devin; Thank you for the wonderful 5 star review! We are very pleased to see that you had a great stay at the Howard Johnson Washington DC North and appreciate the kind words and compliments for our staff. We look forward to being your choice hotel the next time you are in the states. Thank you again for being our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites College Park-University Area
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
3.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Property: Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing