We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The staff was awesome! They were responsive to concerns and...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    162
    149
    80
    67
See reviews for
247
104
44
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

we were looking for a hotel in Hyattsville but after we finally found this one in Washington it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for the great review! Glad you found us when searching for a hotel in Maryland. Because our location is within 3 miles to downtown DC, we have the suffix of Washington DC North, but we actually are in Cheverly, Maryland. Now that you found us, we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The king bed room we had was very nice and the people were very helpful and polite all the time. The free shuttle service was very convenient. It was clean and the television selection was good.

However I was very unhappy with the morning breakfast. It was an extremely small "buffet" with cardboard tasting waffles, oatmeal, and yogurt. There was not meat and the line was always crowded because of the process to make all you stuff.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mini54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to write a review and provide valuable feedback. While we are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time as our guests and found the staff and services to your satfisfaction.

Many of our guests requests a meat of some kind on our menu but we do not have the kitchen set up or equipment required to prepare and safely store meat. I hope our guests can understand and we do apologize we are unable to change that.

Thank you again for your review and business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We just returned from a 5 night stay. My wife and I and 3 older teens. We wanted to explore DC. This hotel was perfect.
Free shuttle to and from Metro on the Orange line. Free breakfast with waffles, eggs, fruit, oatmeal, grits, bagels,pastries,toast,coffee, juices. Free ice tea and coffeee in lobby 24/7. Free USA today. Free wifi. Free dinner with salad, pastas, chicken,vegetables. One night bbq by pool. Horse shoes in back of hotel.
Life guard at pool that was open 4-10pm.
Friendly attentive staff. Hotel clean and large rooms.
Tip: you must sign up for shuttle.10 am very popular. Call when you arrive back to be picked up within 15 minutes.
We had E-rate and paid $79 per night for 2 queens.
Really cannot find anything negative about this hotel.Excellent Value.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guests: Thank you for the great 5 star review and positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to see that you and your family had a wonderful time as our guest. We look forward to seeing you all again the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recife, PE
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed at the HoJo Washington DC North for a four days during our trip to Washington and we had a great time there. The hotel is next to the Balt-Wash Pkwy, and it won't take more than 15min by car to get to the National Mall. Actually driving in the DC is not that easy, so I would recommend you to take the complimentary shuttle provided by the hotel to Cheverly metro station, it runs on every hour from the hotel and they'll pick you up from the station when we're on your way back. Hotel staff is awesome, gently and friendly, they're always there to help anytime. The bedroom is spacious, clean and comfortable, there was a microwave and refrigerator inside the room, a LCD TV set and a balcony. Breakfast was good, they had waffles, fruits, cereal, milk, bread etc. They also have a swimming pool, which was great after a long summer day walking up and down in National Mall. If you feel like eating in the area, there are some restaurants around with good food and great price. I strongly recommend this hotel, it's one of the best HoJo I've ever been to at a great price, hope you have a great time there too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenomartins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guests; I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for being our guest at Howard Johnson Washington DC North. We really appreciate the 5 star review and could not be happier to see we exceeded your expectations. Thanks again for your review and for your business. We'll see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights on a recent trip.

They free shuttle to the train station was awesome (but it fills up quickly-they try to accommodate by adding an extra shuttle if needed). The driver 'Mr Tom' was friendly and helpful.

The room met our needs (family of 3) but hosekeeping struggled to keep a fresh supply of towels (most likely due to the pool).

Breakfast was adequate and the free dinner was unexpected.
The pool was a welcome relief from the Summer heat but was only open inthe afternoon :-(

I would happily stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrincessSheree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for the great 5 star review! We appreciate you sharing your trip with us and delighted to see we exceeded your expectations. I'll mention to the hotel manager about seeing what they can do to to get more towels for the pool, thank you for the suggestion.

We look foward to seeing you again the next time you are in the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This place met our needs even when I thought it was not going to be what we expected for the money. Room was spacious for a family of five. We always try to find a place with free breakfast but dinner too was a plus. Dinner started at seven which is great when you had a late lunch in DC. Shuttle service was awesome fast friendly and efficient. Places so close you can walk. Hojo team was friendly... including life guard....kudos to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flamingo471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guests; Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review with us. We appreciate knowing that the hotel staff and services provided exceeded your expectations. Once again, thank you for selecting the Howard Johnson Washington DC North as your place to stay, we are delighted to see you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We'll see you again next year if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
3.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#116 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,672 reviews
4.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Largo/Washington DC
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Washington DC-Northeast
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#109 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Property: Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing