We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed from 6/30/13 - 7/5/13. The room was clean, beds comfortable, nice flat-screen tv. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

This is an older property, but one can tell that the owner takes pride in it and are improving it consistently!

Only negative were the vultures at the complimentary breakfast, though this is not an issue with the hotel.

We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvsPlant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for the wonderful review. We do take a great amount of pride in our hotel and it is pleasing to know our efforts are being noticed. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and will return. Thank you again for the compliments, we appreciate that! Looking forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    154
    141
    72
    63
See reviews for
236
99
40
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Average hotel in a fair neighborhood. Population in the area consists of mainly Hispanics and African Americans. This doesn't bother me but just some info for those it may.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We take great pride in being part of such a diverse and multicultural city and have been a fixture in the community for many wonderful years. We appreciate you being our guest and thank you again for your review. Should you find yourself in the area, we welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The room was adequate. It was better than I expected for the $$$. The front desk staff were very accommodating. The free shuttle is a huge bonus. The driver was such a nice gentleman.

My only complaint was there was a large group of students that thought the hall was a great place to gather and have a party!! Our door was repeatedly knocked on. Very loud yelling. Our room was unfortunately on the same floor as the pool.

I've read this same complaint on here, so maybe if you are looking for a quite place to stay, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you for sharing your trip with us. We'd like to also thank you for the compliments for our shuttle drivers and front desk team.

We apologize that part of your stay was disrupted by other noisy guests. We encourage our guests to please call us at the front desk and ask for the manager on duty to report that the students are being loud; we can reach the tour leader or chaperone immediately and have the group dispersed back into their rooms.

We appreciate knowing that while overall you had a pleasant stay. We welcome the opportunity to have you as our guest again so we can provide an excellent experience next time. Thank you again for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This howard johnson was a good value for your money. With the complimentary shuttle service it made it very convenient to get to the metro station to get to the central DC sights. Complimentary breakfast was also a plus for the money. The rooms were decently sized and included a fridge. The breakfast buffet was also decent with a good selection and variety. there is a walmart and a local Grand Mart grocery store about a 15 minute walk away in addition to other eateries (mcd's, bk, panda express). There is also a good italian restaurant on the grounds. The hotel also had a laundry area (2 washers and 2 dryers) which allowed guests to wash their clothes while there.

One suggestion, during the busy season and busy days management might want to consider starting breakfast a littler earlier. Some days the breakfast area was very busy, no place to sit and you had to wait to get to the food. Many took their breakfast and went back to their rooms since there was no place to sit. By opening up earlier (a half hour but maybe even an hour earlier would be good) it will allow guests to get an early start and avoid the big breakfast crowds.


While convenient, the shuttle service was sometimes unpredictable. On a couple of days we had to wait at the cheverly metro station over an hour for the shuttle to arrive. One evening there was another (foreign) group who was waiting much longer (over an hour and 45 minutes) for the shuttle (they called a few times but was given the run around), then when the shuttle driver arrived he made a detour to pick up another person, looked like a friend. While relatively safe at the metro station I wouldn't recommend having to wait an hour for the shuttle and at 9:30 pm it might have seemed a little unsafe waiting without any security in the area. One day I also waited over an hour at the metro station (at 4 pm). I know this is a "perk" but it would be nice if the service were more timely, possibly a staff shortage problem? Also, during the mornings, the shuttle was sometimes filled and people had to wait for the next shuttle. For guests on a schedule this could have been a problem, management might want to consider using multiple shuttles or having the shuttle driver leave earlier if there are a lot of guests needing the shuttle, especially those on a schedule or there are lots of suitcases. Another suggestion might be shuttles on the half hour to allow for the morning rush. I was there 10 minutes prior to the 9 am shuttle with my suitcases but had to wait for the next shuttle as the 9 am shuttle was filled to capacity. Luckily I wasn't in a hurry but I went out early so I could get a seat, which didn't happen. In the mean time the shuttle was waiting at the hojo with lots guests waiting, the driver should have taken the guests waiting since the clipboard showed a lots of guests needing the shuttle at that particular time.


Since the prices were good for this howard johnson it was usually busy with youngsters which sometimes made it noisy and congested.

Room Tip: Get out early if you want to take the morning shuttle, especially if you have suitcases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiitravellerinsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest; Thank you very much for your detailed review. Guest feedback such as yours is very important to us as it helps us see where we are doing well and where improvements may be needed. We are pleased to see you received a good value and found the accommodations to your liking.

While we understand the shuttle was a bit unpredictable, that is not the norm. We run the shuttle every hour on the hour we do our best to make additional pick ups during peak times so we do not inconvenience our guests. We apologize for the delays you and other guests encountered.

We greatly appreciate all your suggestions and we will definitely take them into consideration as the busy season comes to a close it is ideal time for us to review and look into changes for 2014.

Thank you again for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Property: Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing