We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG this place is GHETTO”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“OMG this place is GHETTO”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I recently got the room and won't be staying here again! The property at first glance is okay, but for the neighborhood and the clientele the price is outrageous!!! Lets start with the housekeeping staff...aside from the fact that they barely speak english they DO NOT KNOCK WHEN ENTERING THE ROOM!!! I was standing there changing my clothes in my bra/panties and the housekeeping staff just opens the door and walks into the room. They didn't knock and didn't understand me when I said "GET THE "F" out!!!" Just stood there with the door open looking at me...WOW. If you are passing through as a single woman I wouldn't recommend staying here but if you have a man with you then you should be fine. Needless to say after the housekeeping unwanted entry I didn't stay the remainder of the night...I'd rather sleep in my car then deal with that. Be advised there is an Italian restaurant on the property but if the food tastes like I remember don't waste your time. There are fastfood restaurants a ways down the road but if you don't really know the area it's easy to get lost. The clientele that comes here, aside from the actual travelers trying to save a buck, are the local GHETTO natives, that seem to be there to party so beware and stay at your own risk!

Room Tip: DON'T unless you are prepared for the Ghettoness
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDtravelinglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlshap, General Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear MD Traveling Lady

Thank you for your comments and feed back. We most certainly understand being upset when housekeeping came through the guest room door. It is hotel policy that housekeeping clearly knocks, announces themselves and waits to hear response from each guest room that is serviced. We will most certainly refresh this awareness ensuring all adhere.
Thank you

Carl Shapiro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    172
    154
    87
    68
See reviews for
257
108
48
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Good Thunder, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights in August. It was a good price. The staff was nice. The hotel was OK. Breakfast was good. Two kinds of cereal, muffins, eggs, oatmeal, toast, waffles, fruit, cottage cheese, juice, and coffee. The pool was only open from 3 to 9. And one day at 6 it was closed for an hour because they were adding chemicals. You'd think theyd have time to do that before 3? It was a short drive to DC. The area wasn't that apealing. They do offer free shuttle to the metro station. We tried it one day, quick service in the morning. But in the afternoon, we called to be picked up and waited 56 min for someone to pick us up. The beds were ok, a little old and hard. The hotel needs to be updated but was clean enough. Half the staff was very helpful and friendly, some were not. There is a laundry facility on the fourth floor and vending machines near elevators. It's just average, older hotel, get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tandbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Everything about this hotel was nice. Clean, staff was so nice, breakfast was good and they have a shuttle service to DC. But the restraunt just in front of the hotel, the service and salad was good, but the food tasted like it came from a can.

Room Tip: Ask to not be put on the first floor which is actually below the main floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Guest; thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We greatly appreciate the compliments about our hotel and staff. We are pleased to see we exceeded your expectations in many areas while you were with us and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Very nice bed with good linen.
Wi if did not work
Very noisy hotel, people banging and crashing all around us till well after midnight, this is a very large and busy hotel full of inconsiderate guests.
Breakfast finished at 0930 so I never got to it.
Cheap for DC but in the middle of nowhere

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Chose this hotel because it has (limited) truck parking. I was pleasantly surprised; the hotel was quiet, clean and comfortable. Definitely a good value. They have a metro shuttle service that is handy if you want to go to downtown.

Room Tip: My fourth floor room had trouble getting cool enough on hot days; ground floor would be better in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harmothoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience while staying with us and we were very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay despite a few issues with the AC we appreciate your feedback and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Where to start. I'm in my 20's and was traveling with my boyfriend, best friend, and my dog. First of all if you're traveling with a dog they are putting you in what we called "the dungeon". No AC, smells like fish, and has an excellent view of the back of a dumpster. We demanded that we be moved to a room with AC ( it was 110 in dc this week!!) they moved us to the next room of which was even worse. We demanded our money back or another room and after some unneeded stress at midnight we were moved to another building. That room was decent and at least the AC worked. But to be blunt the area isn't that great. I'm a 23 year old women and I went to the gas station next door by myself and felt really really uncomfortable. Like almost didn't get out of the car scared, and I'm from NYC!! We called and asked if we could have till noon to checkout- they said sure- guess who comes banging on our door at 11am on the dot?! Overall- BLAH. I wanted some place cheap so we could have a quick weekend trip to DC but this place was just to crappy even for a no frills college student. But the people behind the desk (except the over night man) were actually really nice, but I'd rather my room not smell like fish and have a less cherry hotel staff, but maybe that's just me ;)

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer building, the AC works there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cheverly hotels

Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is an older hotel, but the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable, a decent breakfast and very quiet. It appears to be used mostly by business people. There is one neighboring Italian Restaurant which was excellent. Bring your room key and get a 10% discount on your meal.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah G, Manager at Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear Guest, Our Team would like to thank you for taking time to let us know about your experience while staying with us and we were very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you return for a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cheverly
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Washington DC - BW Parkway
3.0 mi away
Metro Points Hotel - Washington North
3.0 mi away
Courtyard New Carrollton Landover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Days Inn Washington DC/Connecticut Avenue
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#115 of 141 in Washington DC
1,740 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington DC / Greenbelt
4.3 mi away
Courtyard Largo Capital Beltway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway

Property: Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway
Address: 5811 Annapolis Rd, Cheverly, MD 20784-1201 (Formerly Howard Johnson Washington DC North/BW Parkway)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Cheverly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cheverly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Wyndham Garden Washington DC North. The hotel is located just off the Baltimore-Washington Parkway near Interstate 95. Our Cheverly, Maryland hotel offers the comforts and conveniences of home with each room equipped with a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. A delicious hot Full American Breakfast cooked fresh is available for an affordable cost daily. Take advantage of our free Wi-Fi Internet access, on-site fitness center, meeting facilities, 24-hour front desk, shuttle service and free large-vehicle parking. Let our free shuttle service escort you to and from the Cheverly Metro Station/Orange Line as well as the Prince George's Hospital Center. The hotel also features a lobby bistro and bar, business center with copy and fax service, and meeting / banquet facilities for your next event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Garden Washington DC North BW Parkway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Washington Dc North/Bw Parkway Hotel Cheverly
Howard Johnson Cheverly
Cheverly Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing