We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites(Chestertown)(Great Value!)
$109
$104
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn(Chestertown)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Oak Manor(Chestertown)
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Motel(Rock Hall)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Grasonville)
$93
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island(Grasonville)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Edgewood(Edgewood)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
John Stam House(Chestertown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
696 results
Traveler rating
648
44
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
648
44
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housemulberry cottageafternoon teathe cottagessteam showerjapanese soaking tubmy husband and icookiesfront porchyellow roomfairy hillsunrise cottageget awayporch swingsophie's suitewrap around porchrock hall
Filter
Updating list...
442 - 447 of 696 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent two nights in the Sunset Room (Garden Cottage) over the New Year's holiday and enjoyed a wonderful getaway. The innkeeper, Rita, is totally welcoming, charming, and informative and provided us with interesting tidbits on the history of the inn. I know it gets tedious to greet guests day in and day out, but she treated us like we were the first ones to come through the door. She took the time to show us around and point out the important features of the inn. We loved our spacious cottage room that had a real wood-burning fireplace. Nothing beats the charm of a crackling wood fire and many of the rooms have such fireplaces. Michael, one of the owners, builds the fire for you so all you need to do is light a match. The bathroom was bright and cheery, and had heated towel bars and a powerful shower with plenty of hot water. Everything in our room was spotless and even the hardwood floors gleamed.

There is a cozy den with a "bottomless cookie jar" that holds a tasty selection of cookies and biscotti. We enjoyed sitting there while having a cup of coffee or tea, and munching on these goodies. For afternoon tea,a delicious cheddar and smoked gouda cheese plate plus a pumpkin dessert were served along with a nice variety of teas. On New Year's Eve, a varitey of hors d'oeuvres were set out, along with sparkling wine or cider. Michael lights a fire in the dining room and sitting rooms at breakfast and during the afternoon tea, which is absolutely delightful. He and his wife, Danielle, are hard-working folks who go out of their way to please their guests. It was nice to come to breakfast and have a selection of entrees, along with fresh-baked muffins or biscuits, juice, coffee or tea. Danielle's homemade applesauce was excellent and included cranberries and maple syrup. I give this inn 5-stars because it really deserves nothing less. We felt totally pampered and highly recommend the Brampton Inn to anyone looking for a romantic, relaxing getaway with modern amenities in an historic home.

Room Tip: The cottage rooms are a stone's throw away from the main inn, but are spacious, quiet and private, having their own entrance and modern amenties.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walkaday65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2013

Thank you for your amazing review. We loved having you stay with us and we are glad that you enjoyed your time here. Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Hi Stayed here in December 2012 for an anniversary. We had the top floor of the Inn in the Green room. Had big 4 poster bed, wood floors with rugs, armoire, 2 chairs for reading and wood burning stove to heat up the room. Modern bathroon too. They have a beautiful chandelier in the dining roomwhere we had pumpkin bars and tea upon arrival. We visited Chestertown and walked the streets, shopped and had lunch. The grounds of the Inn have 2 guest houses behind the driveway. There was a sunny porch in the back that offered brandy and tea, coffee and cookies at anytime. DVDs in the parlor for you to use on your TV, no cable, just local stations, but who needed to watch TV? Had dinner at The Brooks Tavern, was expecting more and were not elated, was a flat eveing there. Breakfast was awesome! Chocolate chip scones, hot tea, homemade applesauce, spinach/goat cheese frittata or oven apple pancake, plus homemade sausage. Definitely recommend this Inn and the Innkeeper Danille was wonderful. Would like to go and try one of the cottages and the Japanese saoking tubs next time!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baybaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your generous comments about the Brampton Inn's hospitality and breakfast. We very much enjoyed your visit and please do come back and try one of the cottages. Our guests don't seem to want to go out much when they stay in them!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Actually...taste of Victorian with better heat and modern bathrooms! We have stayed at this B & B twice during the run up to the Holidays when traveling through Chestertown and find it a charming and restful haven from the hustle bustle found almost everwhere right before the holidays...
The room we had this time was Sophies Suite and it had a nice kingsized brass bed and gas fireplace. There is a sitting room anexing the bedroom, and the bathroom is modern with towel warmers and a jetted tub. The room was cozy and the bed comfortable. The high ceilings and enourmous windows, especially in the dining room add a lot of character with out being drafty. Tea is served in the dining room on victorian styled china and pressed glass, which if you are a fan...you will appreciate! The inn keepers also accomodated my dietary need for gluten free.... and I must say, I never have had flourless chocolate cake that was so perfect! It was perfectly moist with out being overly gooey! Breakfast menu also had GF choices. (Thank-you so much Danielle!) Our stay was brief, but we really find this town and the Brampton just a perfect place to get away from traffic, shopping malls and restaurants hosting holiday parties.

Room Tip: We stayed in the blue room once before, which did not have a King bed...but that room had a lot of charm. The sitting area is part of the room and we were not unhappy with the queen bed. The floors and the stairs creak...it's an old house! So you might hear other guests moving about. We are Ok with that. The other guests have all been curteous and quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martini-mimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We loved having you as our guests and hope that you'll be able to escape again to the Brampton very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Brampton B&B is lovely. We stayed overnight in the Mulberry Cottege and had a great time. The property is quiet, secluded from the main road and just beautiful.

The Mulberry Cottage has a very comfortable king size bed, an air-bath tub, a steam shower AND a gorgeous outdoor Japanese bath (true soaking tub) on a private screened in porch. In addition, it has a beautiful wood burning fireplace for use in season. The fireplace is ready to go and extra wood is provided so you can keep in going. We never use our fireplace at home so this was a real treat! The cottage also has a small refrigerator stocked with sodas and coffee and tea are available in the cottage. There is also sitting area and a breakfast table plus another table outside for use if the weather is nice. Plus there is a swing, a hammock and one covered parking spot. Nice touches!

Since we were in a cottage, we were not in the main house but we went up for afternoon tea and for breakfast. Both were excellent and the owner, Danielle, is just as nice as can be. The parlor in the main house is stocked with freshly baked goodies plus popcorn, sodas and even sherry should you wish to have a nightcap. This is really for people who might want a treat without leaving the property.

I couldn't write this review without mentioning the highlight of the place and this is Slippers the cat. He is adorable and more like a dog than a cat in terms of personality. I read about him in other reviews before we went so when I saw him I called him over. He came running over and walked back to the cottage with us and proceeded to stay and stay and stay! It was a beautiful day so we sat outside with him and he sat on the swing eith us. Once we went inside, he left (after awhile) but reappeared when we returned from dinner and spent the rest of the night on our porch. Each time we opened the door for more wood, he was there to say hello. We were wondering if he would still be there when we got up but he had moved on to more exciting things! We didn't get to say goodbye but he is a sweetheart.

Overall, this is a great place for a getaway! It won't disappoint. I would go back in a minute and it appeared many of the guests were already regulars.

The freshly baked gingerbread cookies provided for the holidays on the departure date are also a really nice touch!

Stayed: December 2012
Thank TRRINVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear TRRINVA, Thank you for the wonderful review and Slipper sends his best as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I've wanted to stay here for five years and we were lucky enough to get a last minute reservation on a fall weekend. I wasn't impressed with the accommodations for the amount of money, but I think it was because we were in a newly released cottage that is also available for long term rental. Not a romantic, cuddle in "front of a fireplace" type of place and we are a romantic couple that had dreamed of that for a fall getaway. For the same price, I think we'd have probably been thrilled if we had stayed in one of the rooms in the Inn like Simone's Retreat or for a little more, one of the two cottages I had read about...Mulberry or Olivia's. I hope to save up the money to go back one day and try again. The Inn owner, Danielle, was nothing but delightful and accommodating. I love the Brampton Inn bath products! I bought many and enjoy them daily :)

Room Tip: For a true B&B experience, I'd stay in the Inn itself. We really lost that feeling by staying in the owner's old residence next door to the Inn. If we go back we'd either stay in the Mulberry Cottage for complete privacy and romance and the Japanese soaking tubs or in one of the rooms in the Inn to enjoy the divine scents from the kitchen and the charm of an old historic house.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countindayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danithode, Owner at Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your frank yet very kind review. I very much appreciate it.
Of course I’m sorry you didn't find Camellia Cottage as cozy as you were hoping it to be. It was the last room available when you booked due to a last minute cancellation. I certainly hope you can come back soon and experience one of our traditional rooms in the plantation house. I know they offer exactly what you are looking for.
Camellia Cottage is part of a circa 1950 ranch house and is our most contemporary accommodation. We took great care not to misrepresent the cottage on our website and hope that it appeals to those wishing for a more modern look, a large space including a kitchen and a large dining/living room with a fireplace.
You are right that it is a stark contrast to our guest rooms in the 1860 plantation house and the cottages. We have also just decided to make it our pet-friendly accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews