We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot, right on the waterfront” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fish Whistle

The Fish Whistle
Ranked #6 of 43 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great spot, right on the waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

We had a meal in the restaurant and bar food out on the deck ... In 11 days we visited 3 times so that must be good! Staff were friendly, attentive without being intrusive .. Good value, delicious food (salads and crab cakes excellent and don't miss the crab dip on sourdough bread!). And the location can't be beaten. Plus there is a happy hour some evenings too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liney1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    133
    79
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Food - Good Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

The restaurant where we wanted to eat is closed on Sundays. Our second choice had no tables available for the entire evening. Some things are just meant to be! We walked down to the water and found the Fish Whistle and had a great experience. We dined inside and had a beautiful view of the water. The food was excellent. It will be our first choice the next time we're in Chestertown.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SteveSmithUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
1 review
“Very afforable, beautiful view, great service and pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This restaurant is my favorite in Chestertown, Maryland. I am never disappointed. The service is always great and the atmosphere is pleasant. We have taken a large group there for dinner and everyone was pleased with their food and their service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne, Vermont
Level Contributor
185 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good and affordable lunch next to the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Six of us had lunch on a Saturday before we sailed on the Sultana tall ship. I had a fried chicken special for $10 which was good. Three from our group had crab cakes which they said was good.
One had a salad and one had a turkey burger. Lunch prices ranged from $9 to $15. Generous portions of food. The view of the river is really nice. Very friendly, prompt service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philly2VT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The place to go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

We found ths restaurant so good we visited it 3 times during a 10 day stay. If anything there was too much food but like any american restaurant there was the ability to take what you couldn't manage away with you for anothe day

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rossnagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Whistle also viewed

 

Been to The Fish Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing