We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good dinner with nice ambience”
Review of Blue Heron Cafe

Blue Heron Cafe
Ranked #3 of 46 Restaurants in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $27
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Concord, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good dinner with nice ambience”
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Blue Heron. Easy parking, lovely decor and soft music added to the experience. Warm, fresh bread served with seasoned olive oil satisfied us before our main dishes of crab cake and Crab stuffed shrimp. The shrimp dish was an appetizer that was enlarged to a dinner portion of 6 stuffed shrimp, solely with crab meat, and had an accompaniment of sautéed fresh zucchini, corn and basmati rice, all delicious and generous portions. Too full for dessert, so did not taste the creme brulee, pecan pie, or flourless chocolate cake. Iced coffee was enough. Reasonably priced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pep1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    41
    16
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best scallops I have ever eaten!”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Blue Heron hadn't been our first choice, but we ended up going there by default, and it was a pleasant surprise. I had the scallops seared in a lime sauce that were out of this world! Clean, well presented, overall a positive experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cindi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Soft Shell Crabs - a YES”
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Only the second time I ever tried them and they were really tender and delicious. Others had crabcakes and fish and everyone really enjoyed this restaurant. Good service and good food. Would go back here for sure

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jimmyStewart023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We made an early Saturday reservation for three and were greeted at the door by name.....and thanked, by name, when we departed.
Our three meals provided an ability to experience the menu variety.......Cioppino, a Grilled Filet, and Chicken Pot Pie. All were prepared very well and, in the case of my personal choice - the Filet - is the best restaurant dish that I have had in many a day.
Waitress service was professional, friendly, and very well done.
The atmosphere of the restaurant was relaxed and quiet. Judging from later arrivals, it appears to be a favorite with locals....always a good sign.
This restaurant is recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank araho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern shore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quality food.”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Food was well prepared. Nice balance of vegetables with main course. Atmosphere a little stiff or maybe too flat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EasternshoreBayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Heron Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Blue Heron Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing