We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bar food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Bird Tavern

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Blue Bird Tavern
Ranked #15 of 43 Restaurants in Chestertown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Mena, Arkansas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good bar food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Family bar. Small town feel. Pool tables, juke box, ATM and table top games.
Food was above average, good portions and price. Great place to grab lunch and relax. Horseshoe bar with plenty of choices.
Great staff, attentive and friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MPCPL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The divey local bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you looking for some beers in town and a true bar atmosphere, the Blue Bird the place to go. It's sort of a town and college hang out with it's own distinctive yet unassuming vibe. I've never been there when it's been busy but there is usually a steady stream of people coming and going and some interesting bar chatter. There are pool tables but the biggest feature is the huge horseshoe shaped bar. A few tables are scattered around the periphery. They have a decent but predicable beer selection, the standard alcohol selection and do offer some food. Honestly, I've only ever been here for beers and its not a bad place to hang for a low key evening.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank KrisT613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The restaurant was small but very intimate. We had our anniversary dinner there and it did not disappoint us. The culinary flare was great along with our wine paring. The staff was great.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
568 reviews
362 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Backyard Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I normally don't write reviews about local establishments... mainly because it's difficult to explain to folks you know why you didn't give them 5 stars. But... I'm making an exception with the Blue Bird.

It's a bar... where locals meet, drink and eat... and Washington College students drop by later in the day. There's a nice selection of drafts, including Angry Orchard cider, and a nice selection of bottles. The food is bar food all the way... with some very tasty sandwiches... all prepared to order.

I'm partial to sitting at the bar... at the left end. When you order food... and the barkeep (they're especially friendly) doesn't know your name... 'left end' goes on your order ticket so the kitchen knows where to deliver your food. There are tables and a billiards room... plus a few TV's. And a juke box for music.

Except for the 'no smoking' this is one of the more authentic Eastern Shore bars still around. These are the kind of places I search out when I travel. I'm lucky in that I have one of the best in my backyard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Bird Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Blue Bird Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing