We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely restaurant tucked into the charm of Chestertown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lemon Leaf Cafe

Lemon Leaf Cafe
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Chestertown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grasonville, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely restaurant tucked into the charm of Chestertown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Enjoyed a great lunch here with a friend recently. Cute atmosphere, fantastic shrimp salad stuffed into a delicious tomato. The waiter told us that the chef spends a lot of time picking out nice tomatoes, and we were not disappointed. Service was excellent. I had wanted to dine on the water but the food more than made up for the lack of a river view. I'll definitely be going back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JEmilyH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    136
    42
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Troy, WI
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Lunch offered us several options - the crab cakes are incredible and the other offerings are excellent. Service is very good-our wait person was very funny with an edgy sense of humor that we all enjoyed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bassplayer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely cafe!`”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Lemon Leaf Cafe is on the verge of becoming something really special. This lovely restaurant on Chestertown's High Sweet announces its presence with lemon topiaries out front. Lemon yellow napkins, a welcoming hostess and attentive service set the table, so to speak, of a really nice dining experience. The atmosphere makes you want to linger and the bay window table was a great spot to do so. Our family of five really really enjoyed our time there.

Now to the food - Lunch is a no-brainer. The crab cake sandwich and salads are very very good. The deserts are excellent! OMG the Mud-pie is to die for - but be aware the deserts must be shared by two! The hand-cut potato chips are worth the price of admission alone. The bread basket is plentiful and varied.

I would definitely recommend dinner at the Cafe with this caveat - I think the Cafe is trying too hard. There are too many items on the menu, preventing the chef from ensuring excellence and innovation. My soft shell crab was a little soggy. While the brussel sprouts were delicious, the potatoes were so-so. Other entrees were good but not outstanding. Let me be clear - the reason I am articulating in detail my concerns is that I really want this Cafe to thrive and prosper! So please go and enjoy and give the chef feedback so he can continue the Cafe's path towards excellence!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, NJ
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best crab cakes in Maryland!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

We used to dream of the old days when the Robert Morris Inn in Oxford, MD had the best crab cakes in Maryland until it closed and then came under new management a few years ago. Now those incredible crab cakes are reincarnated in Chestertown at the Lemon Leaf Cafe!

All lump crabmeat- no back fin and no bread filler- suspended in a thick creamy something and captured inside a perfect breaded crust. We savored every bite. We ordered the crab cake on the house salad, which came with the dressing on the side. Perfect!

We also each had a cup of crab soup. They brought a small carafe of sherry so you could mix in the amount of sherry to your preference. Very good, though my husband thought it was a little too salty. I didn't. I thought it was luscious.

We also ordered the homemade unsweetened iced tea mixed with fresh lemonade, which was the perfect accompaniment for the lunch-time meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, CT
Level Contributor
328 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant in a Nice Town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Chestertown is worth a visit.

It's a pre-revolution mostly brick town like many others south of the Mason-Dixon.

This restaurant was full, but not crowded at 1 PM on a week day.

Everything was nice.

Save time for a walk along the Chester River.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dr_Bill_Corcoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemon Leaf Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Lemon Leaf Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing