We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Simply Bed and Bread
Ranked #3 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We were made most welcome by Cheryl and David. Traveling with my mother and we thoroughly enjoyed our time on the MD eastern shore. Felt like home, including a couple of scrabble games with David. As longtime residents of the area David and Cheryl were able to provide some history and plenty of suggestions for visiting and eating. Chestertown is a delightful historic town with easy walking to restaurants from the B&B. Not that we needed much to eat after hearty breakfasts by Cheryl.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank 19EJS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 203 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at Cheryl & David's place this weekend for my Alma mater's annual Birthday Ball. From the start, Cheryl welcomed me to their home with open arms (literally!) and I couldn't have asked for a more wonderful weekend spent in my favorite town. They made me feel like I was home. Cheryl is a FANTASTIC chef/baker and I enjoyed every bite of food that came out of their kitchen. I loved spending time with Cheryl & David. Getting to know them (and chatting for hours after breakfast!) was my favorite part of staying in their home. They've thought of every detail possible in their B&B and they would do anything for their guests :-) I can't wait to go back - I'm already reserving my spot for more weekends when I travel back to Chestertown!

Room Tip: Both rooms are cozy and cute, with lots of charming details and homey treasures. Cheryl & David...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melerd239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

My wife and I spent the past weekend at Simply Bed & Bread. It was a great experience and I will return sometime to do it again. Cheryl & David's hospitality was excellent and they made us feel like family. It was nice to get away from the busy city and come to a place that welcomes you with open arms. I would recommend this bed & breakfast to anybody looking to get away, relax, and meet two great new people. Be sure to try the cinnamon buns!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loddy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife and I just came back from a restful and very enjoyable stay with Cheryl and Dave. They are a warm and friendly couple, and we enjoyed spending time with them. Although one of them was always on hand if we needed anything, we always felt like we had our independence and privacy. Cheryl also gave us excellent recommendations for dining, and we had other interesting conversations together about the arts and our children. It was all very easy and laid back.

The B&B is a cute bungalow on a quiet street near the college. It is near everything in Chestertown. It is true that there is no private bath, but we were the only guests during our stay, so the bath was, in essence, a private bath for us.

The breakfast was delicious, with far more food than I could finish. Cheryl's neighbor, Nancy, helped out with the breakfast service, and she, too, was a warm, down-to-earth person, and we ended up chatting with her for a good bit.

I wholeheartedly recommend this B&B to anyone heading to Chestertown. (The only type of person who might not be a right fit would be someone who cannot climb stairs, as the rooms are on the second floor.)

We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galugo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had an absolutely marvelous time with Cheryl & David. The breakfast was great and we both came away "stuffed". Amazingly we had both both lost weight when we got home. Thank you so much for making the weekend so memorable.
Andrew & Dorothy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We loved our two-night stay at Simply Bed and Bread. Our hosts, Cheryl and Dave, were like extended family and very accomodating. The rooms were spacious, the bed incredibly comfortable(!), and the breakfasts were generous, adventurous and delicious. If you like cookies, this is the place for you. Be prepared to tell Cheryl what your favorite kind is when you make your reservation. Simply Bed and Bread is very near Washington College, and a short, pleasant walk to downtown Chestertown and the waterfront.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Having selected this B&B on another innkeeper's advice, he has lost a client. My wife and I like unpretentious places, like to feel comfortable, do not object to sharing a bathroom, and do sometimes enjoy being pampered. Cheryl's Six or seven course breakfasts are over the top--what our mothers might have loved to serve us even if we couldn't eat it all. Proximity to the town center is important for us, as well as being near the riverfront and a few very good restaurants.
We also very much like being able to learn about the area from the innkeepers, and being able to have easy conversation. All of these make a stay with Cheryl and David Hoopes' guest house very warming and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fine; one is larger than the other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chestertown hotels
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.4 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.2 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#5 of 11 in Chestertown
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
386 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Inn at Mitchell House
The Inn at Mitchell House
#4 of 11 in Chestertown
80 reviews
1 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simply Bed and Bread? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simply Bed and Bread

Address: 208 Mount Vernon Ave, Chestertown, MD 21620-1324
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $99 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Think home-y, not hotel.Think character, not cookie-cutter.Think individualized, not generic.Think fresh, not frou-frou.Think stocking feet, not stuffy.Think friendly, not formal.Private. Yet personal.2 cozy, spacious, allergy-friendly upstairs rooms in a 1947 Cape Cod on a quiet street 100 yards from Washington College. Close to the hospital, Heron Point, historic downtown and the waterfront. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing