We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Simply Bed and Bread
Nearby Hotels
Quality Suites(Chestertown)(Great Value!)
$109
$104
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Great Oak Manor(Chestertown)
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Driftwood Inn(Chestertown)
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$245
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mariners Motel(Rock Hall)(Great Value!)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Grasonville)
$90
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Kent Island(Grasonville)(Great Value!)
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Edgewood(Edgewood)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
194
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington collegecookieshome away from homequiet neighborhoodmy husband and itandem bikelocal collegetake homemini fridgean amazing cookbirthday cakelocation is idealcomfortable homewithin easy walking distancedowntown chestertowngracious hostslemon leaf
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 204 reviews
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Who says you can’t go home again? Well, brothers Al and Keith Grubb did just that during our recent visit to Simply Bed and Bread. We spent eight years of our early childhood in Chestertown from 1966 through 1974 while residing at 208 Mt. Vernon Avenue-the present day bed and breakfast which has been tastefully and eloquently updated over the years. To refer to Cheryl and David Hoopes as merely Inn Keepers would be an understatement at best. Their love, hospitality, attention to detail, and Cheryl’s gourmet treats and meals made our trip nothing less than a fairy tale experience. While most guests aren’t literally going home again, that’s just what they’ll find awaiting them. Whether you live near or far, you’ll be exceedingly happy you stayed at Simply Bed and Bread, and you’ll be blessed that you made new friends with David and Cheryl. To say that we highly recommend them would be an understatement.

Room Tip: These accomadations will suit any need from visiting your children at Washington College to a romantic get away to just a peaceful adventure.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Cheryl & David are really great hosts. It felt like I was staying with family (in the good way). They were incredibly gracious and thought out the details (extra sweatshirts in the closet, really good flat screen TVs and WiFi, EXCELLENT mattresses, terrific food). But they were also low-key and normal. If you've never tried a B & B preferring the anonymity of a hotel (like 2 people in our group), you really might want to consider this cozy, attentive place. Two weeks ago I stayed at a Ritz-Carlton, and I can honestly say this was more comfortable.

Room Tip: There's a shared hall bath, but we travelled with family and it was fine. The shower was GREAT.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in: spotlessly clean, attentive and considerate hosts conscious of your every need, located in the historic district and nicely renovated, beautifully and thoughtfully furnished (antique quilts on your bed!), wonderful home-cooked breakfast, no potpourri or any other scents - thank heavens! Air-conditioned which, in this area, is a must. One of the rooms even comes with a library stocked with many books from Agatha Christie to Winston Churchill, among many others. Within easy walking distance to a great little restaurant - the Lemon Leaf. I'd recommend this to anyone and will not stay anywhere else whenever I come back to Chestertown.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DTravellerOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My sister had given my husband and I a two-night stay at Simply Bed and Bread as a gift. In trying to determine a way to celebrate my birthday week, we decided a trip to Chestertown and this B&B would be a fun, relaxing break. We were so right (we are often not!! ). Simply Bed and Bread is warm,inviting and "homey". We loved our stay! We loved the house, our room, our hosts (and helper, Debbie)...There is nothing but good to say,..thanks for all the "special" Cheryl and David!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micaela416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

On a visit to Chestertown from Baltimore to see a concert, I found this B&B when my mom suggested it. Upon calling, I found that Cheryl, the owner, finds out the likes and favorites of her guests so that she can bake cookies for their arrivals, and so the breakfast she creates is something that they will like. The rooms were her now-grown daughters' rooms, and they are beautiful decorated in white with touches of color and books all around. Comfortable and welcoming, the rooms held many surprises like a widescreen TV, a hidden fridge and a plethora of welcoming notes explaining everything down to the Butler's Pantry (in case you've forgotten anything, of course). Her food is divine, and she tries to decorate your rooms to match the reason you are in Chestertown. Right next to Washington College campus, the B&B was close enough to 'downtown', that we were able to walk wherever we went that evening. Simply Bed & Bread made 'coming back' to Chestertown a wonderful, homey experience! Not only was Cheryl welcoming and wonderful to talk with and catch up with about all things Chestertown, her husband was a wonderful conversationalist, keeping us all enthralled, and participating in a conversation over breakfast that spanned politics, basektball, running, Chestertown, and grandkids. A warning. Tell Cheryl if you don't eat a lot for breakfast. She LOVES what she does. For breakfast, her wonderful sub, Nancy, served us a crustless cheese and jalapeno quiche, homebaked (that morning) cinnnamon buns, fruit salad topped with sherbet, homemade toast with homemade lemon curd, corn pancakes, sausages, and, of course, coffees and juices of our choice. AND, she left us a bag of paper thin sugar cookies that were OUT OF THIS WORLD to take home with us!

Room Tip: There is no bad room. Both room choices are terrific. Emily's room has the California King!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newfish143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews