We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Kids art adventures

RAC is doing an excellent job of engaging young children in the arts. They provide practical art... read more

Reviewed August 9, 2017
326alm
,
Chestertown, Maryland
Eye Candy for the Art Lover!

My wife and I visited River Arts in Chestertown this past weekend and viewed some extraordinary... read more

Reviewed June 21, 2016
LordThomMohr
,
Columbia, MD
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
10
6
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
6
1
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 19 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2017 via mobile

This is a gallery of local artist's work for sale. In addition to the gift shop area, the exhibits change monthly. Anything from painting to sculpture to woodwork to photography. A great place to browse and do a little shopping.

Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017 via mobile

This gallery in Chestertown Maryland has a large number of local artists who display their work here. It is a very active group and the displays and shows are constantly changing. It is definitely worth visiting when in Chestertown.

Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

RAC is doing an excellent job of engaging young children in the arts. They provide practical art lessons as well as tours of galleries and places with cultural history.

Thank 326alm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2016

My wife and I visited River Arts in Chestertown this past weekend and viewed some extraordinary works of art. The workers there were cordial.

Thank LordThomMohr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2016 via mobile

Went to view the art show on Friday January 8, 2016 because I heard about it from the locals. I thought it would be interesting and went there hoping to have a good time. I looked around and worked my way to the buffet table. A lot of older people hovering around talking and leaning on the table. Some had plates of food while others were just there.

When I tried to get to the table by being polite and excusing myself they didn't move. A couple looked at me as if I had no right to be there. They thought they were better than me. If this is a representation of the charm of Chestertown, don't visit the River Arts.

There are many other places there that are more hospitable and where the locals and employees at places like Lemon Leaf and Lusia's care.

2  Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2015

River Arts is tucked away in a covered alley connecting a parking lot and High Street. It's a combo gift shop loaded with nicely priced crafts from jewelry to odds & ends.

Then there is the artwork and crafts. The art ranges from the hobby landscapes to the professional abstracts. Ditto for the crafts... which are all a step up from fridge magnets.

This is one of the best stops on Chestertown's First Fridays tour... with a new 'show' each month. But it's worth a visit any time its open. And on special days you might be greeted by my wife who volunteers there on week-ends.

1  Thank Hokie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2015

Local crafters. Multi-medium, some pieces were quite strange. Small space, much occupied by the gift shop. On inside corridor of a mall.

1  Thank boardhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2015

Local artists and artisans display and sell there work in a comfortable atmosphere, right in the center of town. It is the hub of the wheel on the first Friday evening every month.

Monthly you'll find new exhibits and displays. The members of the River Arts do a wonderful job of making you welcome and the group of Artists are warm and friendly. Nothing snooty about this event, just targeted, or so it seems, the over 65 crowd that has nothing particular to do until about 9:30 PM when they have to be home to go to sleep.

You can find something to spend some money on, hand made Jewelry, wood work, art and ceramics. Make certain you visit when your in Chestertown, if possible plan on the First
Friday of the Month.

Thank Herm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2014

We were spending the night in Chestertown and after a quick walk through the Farmer's Market on a rainy Saturday morning we walked to the River Arts location. It is the holiday season and I am always on the lookout for interesting items as gifts. We walked through the gift shop and saw many interesting creations from local artists. We also stopped by a glass artist's studio and spoke to the couple that created the lovely glass pieces. If only I had a million dollars - I would have bought it all!!!!

Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

River Arts is a wonderful addition to the Chestertown Downtown area. It showcases a variety of local artists' works including jewelry, photographs, ceramics, weavings, and paintings, to name a few. It is run by local citizens with frequently hold events and classes. It is a "must" stop if you're visiting or even as a local noting how items change frequently.

Thank bjbrooks123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews