We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We visit at least once a year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Widow's Walk Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chestertown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Widow's Walk Inn
Save
You added Widow's Walk Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 12 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Leola, Pe
1 review
“We visit at least once a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

My husband and I have been staying at the Widow's Walk since 2005. I chose it that year from any number of inns in the area because of its proximity to the shops in Chestertiown, you literally walk out the door and onto the historic streets. We continue to return year after year because the Widow's Walk, has a comfortable and welcoming feel. Whether we're spending quiet time reading or relaxing on the screen porch or find pleasant conversation in the living or dining rooms which, by the way, are appointed with many family furnishings and objects of the inns owners, Bob and Sue, we don't feel "funny" about using the common space as we have in some other bed and breakfasts. The rooms are ALWAYS clean and fresh as well as the bathrooms, and it seems all your need are thought of. The innkeeper is akways available, but doesn't hover. Breakfast is a treat, many times Bob uses fresh produce from local farms. We have found the rates are fair. If you are looking for a consistently comfortable, clean bed and breakfast in a absolutely lovely part of Maryland, this is the place!

Room Tip: Chhose the Susquehanna if you prefer privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FayeLeola_Pe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
10
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

I made up my mind to attend the Pirates and Wenches Fantasy Festival in nearby (13 miles away) Rock Hall, MD. Unfortunately, I decided late and could not find a room for a Saturday night close-in Rock Hall. Since I had to pass through Chestertown, MD to get to my destination, I looked at B&B's and hotels there. I decided on the "Widow's Walk Inn" and made reservations by phone. I spoke to Bob, the innkeeper, who said I could check in early on my way to Rock Hall instead of coming back in mid-day at the normal check-in time. This was a big convenience. Upon arrival Bob walked me through the rather large house and pointed out the amenities. I stayed in the Chesapeake Room which is large and tastefully furnished and has an en suite bathroom spacious for a Victorian-era B&B (there are some rooms that have shared facilitties). Returning after a day's worth of festivities, I had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was perfect -- a fresh fruit cup, a variation of french toast, a choice of juice and outstanding coffee. There was no rush to leave and while checking out Bob and his wife Susan spoke about the history of the house and about the attractions in Chestertown. Parking is off-street and the inn is in a quiet neighborhood. The innkeepers are very cordial. I recommend this inn to others and would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RMG4369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2009

I arrived on a summer weekday & was the only guest, which I gathered was quite common during the week. As the innkeepers live in the carriage house, I had the house to myself... and saw (and heard) the innkeepers only at check-in, and then breakfast 15 hours later.

The house is large, tastefully -- even expensively -- furnished with antiques and semi-antiques. Perhaps too much so, as I felt everything had been arranged "just so" and that it would be bad form to move anything. Certainly a family with children would have to be on tiptoe here.

That said, the room and bath were spacious, comfortable and spotless -- and the price was perfect.

Innkeeper Bob had hot coffee going not long after dawn, and made me a breakfast that lacked for nothing.

The main part of the town is just five minutes walk away -- beautiful town -- and dinner at the Blue Heron is not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2006

We stayed two nights in this inn and found our hosts, Bob and Sue, to be extremely gracious and helpful. The rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. Breakfasts provided were delicious and the coffee was excellent. The public rooms of the inn were comfortable and the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed.

Even better than the ambiance of the old Victorian home was the dining guidance provided by Bob and Sue. Lunch at the Old Mill Bakery was wonderful - generous portions of all menu items - fantastic sandwiches and excellent soups, all made with top-of-the-line ingredients.

Dinner at the Blue Heron was even better - thick tenderloins that cut like butter, excellent fish and immensely wonderful crab and shellfish! A rare find in a major metropolitan area, quite unanticipated in this sleepy little town.

Exploring one day, we found a wonderful place in Chesapeake City (about an hour away) called the Bayard House. We lunched there, outside, on the canal, under an awning. This establishment had a very pleasant staff and the food was well prepared and excellent in all regards.

All told, a wonderful place for a quiet day or two of relaxation.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlotte_Transplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
1.2 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
21.6 mi away
Kent Manor Inn
Kent Manor Inn
#1 of 2 in Stevensville
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
8.2 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 12 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 stars 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#6 of 12 in Chestertown
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Widow's Walk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Widow's Walk Inn

Property: Widow's Walk Inn
Address: 402 High St, Chestertown, MD 21620-1312
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing