We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Inn at Mitchell House
Ranked #4 of 11 Chestertown B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 27, 2008

A lovely room and a fabulous breakfast were a large part of our relaxing getaway to the Inn at Mitchell House. Also we brought a bottle of wine and enjoyed it on the porch one evening, it was very quiet and peaceful. The Inn is a short walk from the Chesapeake Bay-- another great plus! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank RootSixtySix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

The Inn at Mitchell House has history and charm. The setting and grounds around the Inn are beautiful. The Stones are very gracious hosts. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank WiscAtty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My husband and I have loved this Inn for many years. The Stone's make the trip worthwhile and the improvements they have made only add to the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbbstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and three kids went to a long weekend family gathering last fall and stayed at the Inn at Mitchell house and had a wonderful time from every respect. Jim and Tracy Stone were very helpful from providing directions to different local attractions to chartering a boat/fishing ride on the Chesapeake. The Inn is a quick and pretty ride to either Rock Hall or Chestertown but you don’t need to town for a good meal as the food at the Inn is fantastic. The rooms are large and well appointed and the grounds are both beautiful and expansive enough for three energetic kids. Overall, we had a great stay with hosts that are lots of fun and very helpful. We highly recommend the Inn at Mitchell House.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank josten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

My family and I stayed at the Inn during the New Year holiday this year. What an awesome place to get away, spend some quiet time, and enjoy the great hospitality of the Stone family! We found time to ride bikes, hike, canoe, golf, and just relax in their historic Inn. Chestertown is full of history and was a wonderful place to explore and enjoy the ambiance so close to the Chesapeake Bay. Adding to our great experience was the overwhelming warmth shown by Jim and Tracy that made our visit so memorable.
We have already made plans to go back to the Inn again this year during the holidays!

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pooky017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We went to the 4th of July festivities in Kent County. I had picked out the Mitchell house years ago, based on their great web page and favorable reviews from several major metropolitan newspapers. But I now felt apprehensive about picking someplace so "far" out of town. As we took our first trip into town, I was delighted to find out my fears were baseless. The ride to either Chestertown or Rock Hall turned out to be about 10 minutes, on a road that was well-maintained, wide, and always empty! And both Jim and Tracy were ALWAYS available to give hints on where to go or where to eat. (They have a book of all the restaurant menus in the area!) They were always glad to talk with us (they live in the house themselves), or they were also glad to leave us alone to amuse ourselves if we wished. There seemed to be a lot more conversation between the guests than is usual at B&B's, and that was surely due to the fact that the hosts knew how to make everybody feel at home! They are also great cooks: we never even had to eat lunch! The house was wonderful, the grounds were wonderful, the bedroom was wonderful. My wife rolled over in bed the last morning we were there and said "YOU can go home." We will surely return to the Mitchell House, as did another couple who were there at the same time: they have been visiting the Mitchell House every summer for 20 years!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank babybowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed at the inn last weekend with 2 other couples. The rooms were very comfortable, and the gourmet breakfasts were delicious. Jim and Tracy were friendly and accommodating. Highly Recommended!

Stayed: September 2006
2  Thank bkwerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chestertown
8.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Chestertown
8.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#2 of 2 in Chestertown
121 reviews
18.3 mi away
Waterfront Historic Kent Manor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Great Oak Manor
Great Oak Manor
#2 of 11 in Chestertown
379 reviews
8.8 mi away
John Stam House
John Stam House
#6 of 11 in Chestertown
25 reviews
7.3 mi away
Brampton Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at Mitchell House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Mitchell House

Address: 8796 Maryland Pkwy, Chestertown, MD 21620-4209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > Chestertown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Chestertown
Price Range: $165 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Inn at Mitchell House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on Maryland's Eastern Shore between Chestertown and Rock Hall in Kent County, this lovely 18th-century manor home sits like a jewel on 12 manicured acres. The Chesapeake Bay is a mere 1/2 mile away, where guests may use the private beach and full services of the Tolchester Marina. The Inn's six guest rooms, two parlors, screened porch, and numerous fireplaces provide a casual and friendly atmosphere. Our new "Stones Throw" cottage is the perfect romantic getaway or retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Inn at Mitchell House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing